Here's your business trends podcast playlist

I made a playlist with all the trends on my radar RN

IN THIS EMAIL:

šŸ‘ļø THE PRIVATE SPOTIFY PLAYLIST Iā€™M SHARING: Just for this month, Iā€™m sharing the trends podcast playlist I put together for everyone in our [One] membership.

Reading time: approx 5 minutes

This is our vibe for the month of Feb

I canā€™t help it: I read all the substacks, follow all the TikTok #trends, and listen to probably upwards of 20+ podcast episodes a week just because Iā€™m obsessed with staying in the know about whatā€™s going on in the worlds of personal branding, marketing, social media, trends and business.

Both for my own ā€œcategory of oneā€ status in the online business space, AND for my clients.

I donā€™t do this cause I HAVE toā€¦I do it cause I friggin l-o-v-e it. And since Iā€™m already curating and consuming all this stuff for myself, I try to make sure I share as much of it as I can, with as many lessons as I can.

But because you-n-me are already bestiesā€”and you already read through these emails slash mini-masterclasses slash biz workshops I send you on a weekly basis [and maybe even save em too!]ā€”youā€™re kinda, sorta like my client too. ā¬…ļø **This is a maje compliment by the way, because Iā€™m at a point in my biz where Iā€™m VERY picky about the clients I work with 1:1 and via our agency.

Anyway, in no particular order, HERE is this monthā€™s [One] private podcast trends playlist for January, 2024 with a quickie explanation about each ep and why I think you should be paying attention to it**:

  • 1ļøāƒ£ Behind the Scenes of Andrea Crowderā€™s $1.8m ā€œAll Audioā€ Business model: This is a coach and course creator who has switched to an ecosystem of offers and courses that are ALL audio based. I find this idea really intriguing [itā€™s def got my wheels spinning] and I loved hearing about how sheā€™s implemented this.

  • 2ļøāƒ£ What You Can Learn From the Worldā€™s Coolest Gas Station: This ep is a marketing & branding case study on Buc-eeā€™sā€”which is a gas station chain in the South that is legit redefining this industry. They call it the ā€œWal-Mart of gas stations.ā€ I was lucky enough to go to check one out on our road trip last summer, and OMG. If I was not in a car full of 3 other people who just wanted to get back on the road, I probably would still be there walking through all the aisles and taste testing all of the homemade food. That place is a masterclass in branding, marketing and ā€œcategory of oneā€ status.

  • 3ļøāƒ£ How to Discover Your Own Taste: If you only listen to one episode on my list, this ā¬†ļø is the one. Itā€™s such a fascinating convo about how with social media becoming a part of our everyday lives, itā€™s getting harder and harder to identify and develop our own ā€œtaste.ā€ Which coincides with the concept of curationā€¦and how this is a skill that is likely to become more and more highly prized as information is no longer really looked at as a commodity.

  • 4ļøāƒ£ Creator Advice: Your Fear of Getting Hate is Stopping You From Going Viral: This ep deals with some dick brain stuff that I talk about a lotā€”basically, if youā€™re allowing @angrymom22 to dictate how you show up and behave online, youā€™re losing. [Sidenote: hereā€™s another great podcast ep where the head of Liquid Death, Mike Cessario, shares some insight that I full on agree with: in order to have an audience of ppl who are obsessed with you, you also are going to have people in your audience that HATE you. You canā€™t have one without the other. I think Mike is another genius marketer thatā€™s also worth learning from].

  • 5ļøāƒ£ Conformity is the Enemy of Progress, Creativity and Business: So, this is basically a commercial for why ā€œcategory of oneā€ status needs to be a non-negotiable for you and your biz. Conde Nastā€™s Chief Biz Officer in the UK lays it all out for you. Sidenote: this podcast, The Business of Fashion is realllly goodā€¦even if you donā€™t have a biz thatā€™s not fashion industry related. I listen to it all the time and love it [another fave ep is THIS one with Marty Bell from Vacation sunscreen and Poolside FM. Vacation began as a spinoff of a totally unique internet radio station and the summer tunes of the 80ā€™s.

  • 6ļøāƒ£ How to Stand Out, Build Credibility, Market Yourself and Anticipate Whatā€™s Coming: Coco Mocoe is the chick in the podcast above [#4 ā¬†ļø] who was giving advice about getting hate online. On this ep she was interviewed by Lauren Bosstick of the Skinny Confidential and they get into Cocoā€™s ability to predict trends, how she uses this on social media, and what it takes to create an unforgettable personal brand [I should also admit here that Iā€™m kind of obsessed with this chick cause of my own fascination with trend predicting].

  • 7ļøāƒ£ Retail Therapy: The In/Out End-of-the-year Episode: This is honestly just a fun end of the year wrap up that talks about trends, fads, culture and more from the founder of Sunday Scaries.

  • 8ļøāƒ£ The Year of Taylor Swift: Ok, while I totes appreciate Taylor Swiftā€™s music, Iā€™m honestly not a full on Swiftie. HOW-EH-VER, Iā€™m fascinated by her approach to community building, marketing and personal branding and could honestly spend an entire year studying it in my own version of a pop culture Ph.D. This episode features an interview with Taffy Brodesser-Akner, a journalist, author and script writer [she wrote ā€œFleishman is in Troubleā€ā€”both the book and the TV show] who so deftly and articulately breaks down the reasons why we should all be paying attention to this amazingly talented woman and the genius biz empire sheā€™s built.

  • 9ļøāƒ£ Building Contrarian Brands: This dude, Raphael Farasat is a true marketing & branding genius and I could legit listen to him talk all day. In this ep he shares details of his co-founding of one of the most interesting brands I follow: Last Crumb Cookies, billed the ā€œviral luxury cookie brand.ā€ This brand, and all of Farasatā€™s gems on this episode is another full on masterclass about how to stand out from the crowd and get your ā€œcat of oneā€ juices flowin.

  • 1ļøāƒ£0ļøāƒ£ Behavioral Economics Books You Need to Read: If you love to study buyer behavior like I do, The Brainy Business Podcast is going to be your goto secret weapon. In this episode, the host, Melina Palmer, shares all of her fave books on Behavioral Economics [and I think this list includes titles of books that you donā€™t necessarily hear everyone else talking about all the time].

  • 1ļøāƒ£1ļøāƒ£ 1,000 True Fans: I honestly think that EVERY SINGLE SOLITARY BIZ OWNER ON PLANET EARTH needs to read the essay 1,000 True Fans by Kevin Kelly, the founding Executive Editor of Wired Magazine. Itā€™s one of the most often quoted and referenced essays by all of the smartest, industry disrupting entrepreneurs I follow, and the first time I read it it kinda blew my mind and shifted my entire framework for how I wanted to run my biz. After you read the essay, listen to this podcast ep from Alex Lieberman, who founded the daily email Morning Brew [thatā€™s now worth like a kajillion dollars] so you can listen to him break it all down.

Hereā€™s a link to my pocast trends playlist again. Tell me which eps you end up digging and if you have any major ah-ha momentsā€¦Iā€™m dying to hear alllll of your thoughts!

As per uzsh, just slam your finger down on that ā€œreplyā€ button if you wanna chat about anything Iā€™ve shared about today [yep, itā€™s actually me here!].

In terms of TV binges lately: I finished ā€œA Murder at the End of the Worldā€ this week which I crazy loved [itā€™s about an internet true crime detective slash hacker who gets invited to this crazy retreat by an Elon Musk type dude in Iceland], and Iā€™m all the hell in on True Detective, Night Country with Jodie Foster, which is just dark AF, creepy and SO damn good.

I also binged season one of the true crime podcast from The New Yorker called In The Dark. Itā€™s about a boy who was kidnapped in Minnesota and the series of incidents that led up to the crime being solved 27 years later.

See you next week.

Love you, mean it.

Hereā€™s the link to apply for [One] again in case you wanna join our community of the coolest, smartest, industry disrupting entrepreneurs [check out the cutie magazine here that has ALL the details of what this totally unique membership is all aboutā€”think Masterclass meets Soho House]. This month weā€™re all working on a big needle moving project together in our businesses, weā€™re offering custom 1:1 project planning sessions, have a masterclass on how to create a weekly email [like this one!] thatā€™s SO good people save em in folders in their inbox, a mindset workshop to check-in with each member to make sure theyā€™re dreaming big enough in their lives and businesses and soooo much more. Itā€™s only $197/mo].