šŸ“ø Exactly How To Plan a Non Basic Brand Photoshoot

You need WAY better brand photos šŸ„“

šŸ“ø Your lame AF brand photoshoot days are over šŸ“ø
Keep reading to learn exactly how I plan all of my non basic bitch photoshoots so you can copy my ass, finally get some brand photos that youā€™re in love with, blow up your social media, and best of all, completely reinvent the vibes of your business.

IN THIS EMAIL:

šŸ¤“ MINI-TRAINING: A step-by-step process for you to follow to uplevel the hayl out of your brand photoshoots
šŸ†’ Examples, inspo and takeaways for you to steal from our own brand photoshoots
šŸ“» A curated list of non basic b photoshoot props you can order from Amazon
šŸ“ My fave must know about photoshoot planning resources and apps

Reading time: approx 16 minutes [this is a long one, but damn itā€™s good]

āœļø MINI TRAINING: Time to pull out your bougie notebook [THIS one is a new fave] and your Frixion pens. My email Mini-trainings are quickie, actionable lessons that I share that often include new concepts and approaches that I want to help you implement in your own biz so we can be rich badass CEOs together.

āž”ļø EXACTLY HOW TO PLAN YOUR NEXT LEVEL, STOP FUCKING AROUND BRAND PHOTOSHOOT & REINVENT THE VIBES OF YOUR BUSINESS ā¬‡ļø

Cause omg Iā€™ve seen your brand photos and I know you can do way the hell better. Hereā€™s how weā€™re gonna make that happenā€¦

IMAGE: Fernando Naw

šŸšØ WHY YOU NEED TO BE PAYING WAY THE HELL MORE ATTENTION TO YOUR BRAND PHOTOS šŸšØ

If weā€™ve been hanging out for a hot sec, you know Iā€™m obsessed with helping you go all in on creating the ā€œvibesā€ of your businessā€¦and thatā€™s because I know that thatā€™s one of the easiest, low lift ways for you establish yourself as a trendsetting ā€œcategory of oneā€ in your industry.

This is a hill Iā€™m totes willing to die on.āš°ļøā›°ļø

I know youā€™re probably thinking: ā€œok, cool e-dawgā€¦but can you fill me in on exactly WTF the vibes of my business even are?ā€

Hereā€™s my definition: the collection of unique elements, both tangible and intangible, that make up your personal brand and biz and define who you are, what youā€™re about and why youā€™re obviously the ONLY ONE your customer should be thinking about.

šŸ’„**One of the most important ā€œtangibleā€ pieces of your biz vibes are your brand photos.

Hereā€™s the truth: your brand photos are one of the easiest and quickest ways you can reinvent and uplevel the vibes of your business in a strategic, impactful [READ: dolla dolla bills in your bank account impactful] way.šŸ¤‘

Iā€™ve spent thousands of dollars hiring all sorts of people simply because I immediately got full on addicted to their vibes. And virtually every one of my 1:1 coaching or intensive clientsā€”even my masterclass studentsā€”will always comment on how they absolutely fell Travis-n-Taylor HARD for my biz vibes too.

I honestly believe that having badass brand photos will do the exact same thing for you.

First impressions countā€¦A LOT. And the thing that often has the biggest impact on the first impressions of you, your personal brand and your biz are your pics.

FACTS.ā¬†ļø

So letā€™s go through your photoshoot gameplan step-by-step so that we can get you some dope AF photos like this one ā¬‡ļø [which was taken on the streets of DUMBO, Brooklyn this summer].

**Also: fyi-zers, all this shit Iā€™m about to share is all gonna apply to you whether you hire a photographer or do this all on your own. I always hire a photographer because thatā€™s what feels good to me, but I will share lots of options for a DIY approach as well.

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

YOUR STEP-BY-STEP PLAN FOR A NEXT LEVEL, DONā€™T EVEN THINK ABOUT FUCKING WITH ME PHOTOSHOOT FOR YOUR BUSINESS

HOW TO PLAN A NON BASIC PHOTOSHOOT
1ļøāƒ£ Brainstorm your photoshoot editorial story

I want you to completely shift your thinking around your photos. Instead of this thought: ā€œwelp, I need some headshots, so letā€™s plan a photo shoot,ā€ I want you to start including photoshoots on your regular, ongoing biz todos list.

Taxes, website updates, photoshoots.

Got it? Good.

But also: I want you thinking waaaaay the hell beyond headshots. Cause things are about to get c-r-e-a-t-i-v-e all up in this piece.

In fact, I want you to play a game with me.

FUCK/MARRY/KILL: Britney Spears, Taylor Swift or BeyoncƩ?

Just kidding.

THIS is the game I wanna play with you:

Imagine that youā€™re a creative director at a magazine. Youā€™ve been tasked with planning out an editorial shoot and you need: a big idea, a direction, a style, the right locations, and the right outfits.

This is gonna be a gorge, glossy 10 page spread and you get to envision the whole damn thing.

Now look, this task is not meant to feel overwhelmingā€¦thatā€™s not the vibe. This is meant to feel fun, empowering and exciting.

Cause newsflash: You ARE the creative director of your businessā€¦youā€™ve just been ignoring this fact for a hot sec.šŸ„“ 

But by taking this role seriously, youā€™re gonnaI signal to your brain, your community AND the universe that itā€™s time to honor the big deal, game changing trendsetting CEO youā€™re meant to be [and donā€™t worry: I have a bunch of questions below to get you started].

āœ… This is also the time to decide on the logistics for your shoot: are you doing this yourself or hiring a professional photographer? [because if you are hiring a profesh photog, they will help you sort some of this stuff out too].

**I share info on my brand photographer below in case you wanna work with her too.

ā¬‡ļø HEREā€™S A SPECIFIC EXAMPLE OF HOW I CREATED A CONCEPT FOR ONE OF OUR PHOTOSHOOTS ā¬‡ļø

When we were launching the Icon Agency arm of our business, I KNEW that the branding was going to be e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-gā€¦I mean we used the word ā€œiconā€ in the name of our agency, soooooo.

Even though at the time we had yet to earn even $1 dollar with that new piece of our business, Greg & I decided to invest in a photoshoot as if we were already the million dollar, donā€™t fuck with us brand we knew we were going to turn into.

We chose to hire a fashion photographer here in Mexico City and treat this like a true magazine editorial shoot. However, we started with the concept and built everything around that.

This is the concept I sent to our photographer when we first started talking about working together [I literally cut/pasted this here from our whatsapp convo]: 

Erica & Greg Reitman are an international power couple team whoā€™s traveling all over the world to try to find ā€œiconsā€ to work with and add to their ā€œicon indexā€ [this was something we invented to represent something like a ā€œbest dressed listā€ but it was for our biz]. This list is exclusiveā€¦and invite only, but getting on there signifies that youā€™ve reached a whole new level in business and in life. Our worldā€¦our spaceā€¦the experience of working with us is elevated, luxe and unlike anything else youā€™ve ever seen before. Once you make your way into our world, you never wanna get out.A team of photographers and filmmakers are following us around on our worldwide adventure to document it all.

IMAGE: Fernando Naw

YOUR NEXT STEPS:
Start with these questions and do a brain dump on a google doc:

āž”ļø What are some words and phrases that embody the sort of pics you wanna create? [some of mine for our Icon Agency shoot were: CEO Millionaire, International business mogul, paparazzi, rich bitch, first class flights, power couple, indulgence, luxe, ladies who lunch, icon status, exclusive. I started with a brain dump of these words and phrases and then created the concept I shared above from there.

āž”ļø Use pop culture, location or decade references. Can you think of a movie or particular director [Nancy Meyers or Wes Anderson flicks], an era [i.e. 60ā€™s mod or Y2k], a place [i.e. a Moroccan souk] or combination of elements [i.e. NYC city vibes in the 60ā€™s with the Andy Warhol Studio 54 crowd] that you can use as a jumping off point for your photoshoot? Brainstorm all of your ideas

āž”ļø Is there a particular photography style you want to lean into? i.e. blurry photos, blown out flash, vintage pics, black and white, etc?

āž”ļø Whatā€™s coming up in your biz that you might need some pics for? Think ahead 6 months to a year. When we did our photoshoot in March of this year I had ZERO ideas for what my podcast was actually going to be about or when I was going to launch it. But I knew that launching it was a big goal of mine, so I decided to take some ā€œpodcast photosā€ anyway. Now that I have my snazzy new Podcast idea for Brand Pop [coming soon!] I can start using those pics.

āž”ļø Find a photographer to help embody your new vibes. Here are some different ways you could do this:

  • Do a search on Instagram and TikTok for your city name + photographer [ex. Chicago photographer] and see if any of the peeps who come up in the results grab you.

  • Reach out to anyone you follow whose pics you crazy love and ask them who their photog was. You also might make some dope new connections.

  • Ask other creatives you know in your industry if they have anyone to recommend

šŸ’„ BONUS TIP: If youā€™re not ready for a shoot now but know that youā€™re gonna need to tackle this sometime soon, start saving inspo photos you see on Instagram. Create a collection called NEW VIBES PHOTOSHOOT and anytime you see a photo you love, a setup, a location, a style, a photographer you dig or anything in between, save it in there so that you can go back to it when you are ready to make some money moves.

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

MY BRAND PHOTOGRAPHER

In case youā€™re wondering who my fab photographer is, her name is Olivia Steuerā€”you can see her work HERE.

Iā€™m so in love with Oliviaā€™s work, Iā€™ve now done 3 shoots with herā€”Iā€™m basically in ā€œcanā€™t stop/wonā€™t stop mode.ā€ We even flew her down to Mexico City to photograph our Icon Agency founders at a retreat we had.

šŸ’„ PRO TIP: when you find a photographer who you truly, madly, deeply connect with, go all in on them. I canā€™t tell you how amazing itā€™s been to collaborate with Olivia on strategically establishing our brand, connecting with our audience and growing creatively.

Sheā€™s based in NYC but travels quite a bit [maybe itā€™s time to plan a fun trip to NYC and while youā€™re there you can do a kickass photoshoot?]. She also recently added a video upgrade option to her photog packages.

If you reach out to her, make sure to tell her I sent you.šŸ˜‰

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

HOW TO PLAN A NON BASIC PHOTOSHOOT
2ļøāƒ£ Time to make Pinterest your bitch

Now that you have a dope concept for your photoshoot itā€™s time to start a Pinterest board so you can start mapping everything out visuallyā€”this part of the process is my favorite part.

ā¬‡ļø WANNA SEE MY PINTEREST BOARD? ā¬‡ļø

SPY ON all 223 PHOTOS I USED AS INSPO WHEN I PLANNED OUR BIGGEST, MOST EXPENSIVE PHOTOSHOOT TO DATE šŸ‘€

ā¬‡ļø Hereā€™s the exact Pinterest board I created for that afore mentioned launch photoshoot we did for the Icon Agency [by the way: you have my full permission to steal any of my inspo, repin your face off and use as much as you want on your own Pinterest boards].

YOUR NEXT STEPS:
Create a fab new Pinterest board for your non basic photoshoot

āž”ļø In case you havenā€™t used Pinterest in awhile, you might not realize that you can actually create ā€œsectionsā€ within one board to group and categorize things. I highly recommend you implement this on your board too to get more organized.

ā¬†ļø Thereā€™s a screenshot of the board I created for our Icon Agency launch shoot, which you can see I divided into: style, nighttime inspo [we were going to do a part of the shoot at night but then decided against that for time reasons], detail shots, hair/make up inspo, studio shot inspo, apartment shot inspo [we spent one of the days in our apartment here in Mexico City, street/cafe ideas and then couples poses.

**NOTE: itā€™s really helpful to look for posing/inspo ideas that reflect the location/time of day youā€™re going to be in. Could I have taken an inspo pic for our apt and used it for some outside shots? Yeah, sureā€¦but itā€™s sometimes way harder to do that. The nighttime photo inspo I pinned may or may not work for my day photos. Just be aware of this when youā€™re looking for ideas.

āž”ļø My recommendation [espesh if you are less experienced at the photoshoot creative direction thang] is that you pin EVERYTHING that you even think a teensy bit interests or inspires you at firstā€¦then later you can edit things down and eliminate images that are not quite as next level as you want them to be.

Sometimes with a shoot for myself or a client I really need to go through this process, let myself go on a pinning frenzy and then nail down the direction or style of the shoot I wanna go for.

šŸ’„ PINTEREST PRO TIP: when you click on a pin you love, the Pinterest algorithm will serve you up OTHER pins that it think you will also dig based on the photo youā€™re pinning. I swear: this is soooo helpful when doing photoshoot planning. Whenever you have a pin open on your screen, scroll down a smidge and you will see a ā€œmore to exploreā€ section. I almost always find better inspo pics this way than doing a straight up search with the search bar.

Similarly, when youā€™re on a specific board and scroll down to the bottom you will also see a little section that says ā€œfind some ideas for this board.ā€

This is what youā€™ll see when you do that.ā¬‡ļø

šŸ’„ BONUS TIP: If you just do a basic search on Pinterest for ā€œbrand photosā€ youā€™re gonna get a bunch of basic ideas right back. DO NOT DO THAT. Cause weā€™re way beyond pics of women laughing over salads with their laptops open and lame headshots that look like cheesy stock photos, amirite?

Here are some search terms I like to use on Pinterest if Iā€™m looking for a quick hit of inspo:

  • Editorial photoshoot

  • Editorial photoshoot ideas

  • Summer editorial photoshoot [or winter, spring, fall]

  • 70s editorial photoshoot [or any other decade]

  • Vintage editorials

  • Editorial makeup

  • Photography retro

  • Blurry photo aesthetic

  • Hotel photoshoot ideas [other locations work too: diner, beach, pool, car, etc]

  • Fashion photoshoot ideas

  • black and white vintage photography [or bw aesthetic vintage]

  • Slim Aarons photography

  • Mad Men photoshoot [or other movies or TV shows]

  • Vintage vogue photoshoot

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

HOW TO PLAN A NON BASIC PHOTOSHOOT
3ļøāƒ£ Dive into alll of the details [including props]

Now itā€™s time to dive into the nitty gritty details of your photoshoot and come up with a master plan.

These are the things that need to be on your hitlist:

āœ”ļø Schedule a date: make sure you give yourself enough time to prep, order anything you need and lock down the rest of the details.
āœ”ļø Finalize locations: you donā€™t necessarily need more than one location, but sometimes itā€™s nice to switch things up. Think about ease of getting from one to the next [espesh while shlepping all your crap with you]. In NYC, for example, we did a bunch of the shots in our hotel room, and then went out to the street to get some grittier shots on the streets surrounding our hotel.
āœ”ļø Create a shotlist: this sounds simple but itā€™s actually kind of a complicated process. I will always start by listing all the types of photos I know I want to get and for what [i.e. podcast photos, Icon Agency launch photos, etc]. From there I will have Pinterest open so that I can coordinate shots/poses. **NOTE: Iā€™m reminding you to think ahead in your biz and try to get shots for as much as you can in terms of anything thatā€™s coming up like launches, product releases, etc. Also, donā€™t forget about: getting both horizontal AND vertical pics, detail shots [i.e. your computer an journal, or your jewelry collection], and if you love using sunglasses like me, plenty of shots WITH AND WITHOUT sunnies.
āœ”ļø Choose your outfits [and shop for anything you need]: For one day Iā€™ll usually aim for 3-5 outfits. But try to be smart about the things you pick. i.e. maybe outfit #1 is a suit, but a secondary look includes taking off your blazer, putting a sweatshirt on, adding a baseball cap and switching into some cutie sneakers.
āœ”ļø Order props: more on this below
āœ”ļø If youā€™re going to get your hair and/or your makeup done, make those appointments. A service I love to use in NY and LA is called Glam Squad. You can book hair, makeup and manicures and have the service providers come directly to your house [or any other location].
āœ”ļø Block out a whole day on your calendar the day before your shoot [so that you have time to prep, grab any last minute items and not feel rushed and anxious] AND block out time the day after your shoot too [so you can rest and recoverā€¦cause trust me: this shit is EXHAUSTING].

YOUā€™VE OFFICIALLY BROKEN UP WITH ALL BASIC PROPS

HERE ARE SOME FUN IDEAS I SOURCED FOR YOU ā¬‡ļø

Look, Iā€™m sometimes referred as the ā€œprop whisperer.ā€šŸ¤£

And itā€™s basically cause Iā€™m full on obsessed with always finding the most creative, totally unique props for all of mine and my clients photoshoots.

Depending on the direction of your shoot, you really could have SO much fun tracking down props that speak to your creative direction and vision [and, for the record, Amazon is my #1 goto spot].

I curated a selection of some fun props for you above that you can use on your next shoot. Some of these Iā€™ve even used myself.

šŸ’„ BONUS TIPS: While Amazon is a killer resource, here are some more creative ideas for you:

  • Hit up ebay for some fun retro props. You can see me with an Interview newspaper from the 80ā€™s up in the pic of me in my cream suit in front of that dark brown wall. I want to order some Sassy and Jane Magazines for my next shoot [in case youā€™re not old like me, these were some magazines that had some big impact me back when I was a teen].

  • What are your hobbies or fave things to do? What could we include in a few of your pics that represent you beyond your role as a dope CEO? Your pics donā€™t need to be all business all the timeā€”your audience wants to get to know YOU. For example, I love to needlepoint, so I want to incorporate one of my needlepoint canvases in a future shoot.

  • Can you get anything custom printed? Maybe you have a catch phrase you use with your audience that you cold print on a notebook or a journal? If I were doing this I might get something like ā€œyour brain is a dickā€ printed on a journal and use it when Iā€™m creating any sort of mindset or journal prompt content. Moo.com is a great resource for doing stuff like this.

  • If youā€™re incorporating a certain decade, what other things can you order to represent it? In addition to my boombox at my recent shoot, I bought some old digicams that I used too.

Here are a few pics from some of my recent photoshoots where I was using some cool props. Again, feel free to use these as inspo or steal any of the ideas for your own shoot.

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

I DONā€™T FUCK AROUND WHEN IT COMES TO RECOMMENDATIONS AND RESOURCES.

HERE ARE ALL MY BEST RIDE OR DIE RECCOS THAT I KNOW WILL HELP YOU BIG TIME AS YOU PLAN YOUR PHOTOSHOOT ā¬‡ļø

HOW TO PLAN A NON BASIC PHOTOSHOOT
šŸ’„ Resources [espesh if youā€™re going to do your photoshoot yourself]

As I shared, I donā€™t ever like to do my photoshoots on my own because I suck ass at it. BUT, it absolutely can be done [espesh if youā€™re on a strict budget].

āœ”ļø Peerspace is a platform similar to Airbnb, except you can rent studios, homes and apts for content shoots.
āœ”ļø LensBuddy is a killer app you can use on your phone whenever youā€™re shooting solo. Itā€™s specifically designed to help creators who are shooting content solo.
āœ”ļø My favorite-y fave lightweight tripod [itā€™s so light and easy to bring with me I even take it on trips now].
āœ”ļø Aliexpress is a Chinese site thatā€™s basically the source of so much of the shit you see on Amazon [I know: fast fashion, waste, yadda yaddaā€”Iā€™m just giving you options]. Itā€™s great for a whole host of things, but I especially love it for photoshoot props as you can often get a lot of the items personalized. I ordered Icon hoop earrings, Icon baseball caps and even Icon sneakers for one of our shoots. **NOTE: shit takes much longer to ship from this site, so plan ahead when youā€™re ordering.
āœ”ļø Rent the Runway allows you to rent clothes, dresses, bags and accessories so that you donā€™t have to spend a kajillion dollars on your photoshoot wardrobe. They only have options for women, however I found this site Taelor that does the same thing for men.
āœ”ļø Thrift stores are also a killer idea to hit up, espesh if youā€™re doing a shoot with a theme. Iā€™m still dreaming of doing a super colorful, 80ā€™s style ā€œRuthless Peopleā€ shoot one day [have you ever seen that movie?? The interiors and fashion are truly iconicā€¦Itā€™s one of my all time faves].
āœ”ļø If youā€™re not ready to hire a professional photog, maybe you and a biz bestie can do an exchange. Rent a space, share props [and split the cost] and then take turns shooting content for each other.

NOW THAT Iā€™VE DROPPED ALL THESE PHOTOSHOOT VALUE BOMBS ON YOUR FACE, I WANTED TO INVITE YOU TO JOIN ME AT MY NEXT MASTERCLASS ON NOV. 16TH:
HOW TO CREATE THE VIBES OF YOUR BUSINESS

UHM, IF I GIVE YOU THIS MUCH JUICY FREE SHIT IN AN EMAIL, IMAGINE WHAT MY PAID MASTERCLASS IS LIKE? šŸ¤“


YOU-N-YOUR BIZ ARE READY TO ENTER YOUR ā€œUPLEVELED AFā€ ERA

If youā€™re digging this photoshoot deep dive, then youā€™re going to be full on obsessed with all of the content Iā€™ll be teaching at my next masterclass.

Iā€™ll be going into the nitty gritty details about alllllll of the diff ways you can intentionally create the vibes of your biz [cause trust me: thereā€™s some serious strategy behind all this stuff].

Iā€™ve legit never seen anyone teach a class like this before.

In this 90 minute masterclass, youā€™ll learn:

āž”ļø All of the different vibe ā€œcategoriesā€ I focus on as an [almost!] 7-figure online business. Weā€™ll go into detail about what you should be paying attention to and what you should skip.

āž”ļø How to create your own biz ā€œvibe formulaā€ā€¦cause as I say again again again: you can either A. commit to intentionally creating your own biz vibes OR B. let your community decide what your vibes are for you.šŸ„“ Unsurprisingly, I think option B is unacceptable.

āž”ļø What fashion ā€œstyle cues,ā€ ā€œbrand catch phrasesā€ and ā€œthreadsā€ are when it comes to your biz vibes [and no, Iā€™m not talking about the new Instagram platform that we all went gaga for week one and havenā€™t logged into since].

āž”ļø All of my fave Vibe-y resources, apps, links and platforms for you to steal and use so that you can immediately start taking action on reinventing your own vibes with intention and strategy.

And sooooo much more.

This will be a webinar style masterclass that includes 60 minutes of live teaching as well as 30 minutes of answering your specific vibe-y questions about your own business.

šŸ’” How to Create the Vibes Of Your Business Masterclass is going down on Thursday, November 16th @ 10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT and 1pm ET. You can grab your spot HERE for only $67. And yep, there will be a replay.

**If youā€™re a current 1:1 client of mine or a client of the Icon Agency, woo hoo: you get into this masterclass for free! Message me for your 100% off coupon.

I KNOW YOUR EYEBALLS ARE PROBS READY TO FALL OUT OF YOUR HEAD AND YOU NOW NEED A SNACK AFTER GETTING THROUGH THIS EMAIL ENCYCLOPEDIA. BUTTTTT I HAVE THREE HELLA IMPORTANT šŸ’„ BONUS TIPS šŸ’„ FOR YOU BEFORE YOU GET BACK TO YOUR SUITS MARATHON ON NETFLIX

IMAGE: Olivia Steuer

HOW TO PLAN A NON BASIC PHOTOSHOOT
šŸ’„BONUS TIPS

āž”ļø Even though Iā€™ve used the phrase ā€œphotoshootā€ all throughout this Ted Talk email, you MUST get some kickass video during your photoshoot too. This is non-negotiable. If youā€™re working with a profesh photog see if you can add on a video package to your shoot [and if not, ask if they know someone else you can hire to shoot video]. You need video you can use for Reels, maybe some for your website, and def some BTS footage too. Also, just as I mentioned you should be thinking ahead re: stuff coming up in your biz [like my podcast] I want you to do the same thing with your video shotlist. **I have an old iphone that I always set up during shoots to take time lapse and b-roll footage of the day.

āž”ļø If you have a vacay planned somewhere, do a photoshoot there! This is something I almost always do when I take a trip because itā€™s a killer opp to get some photos/videos of you in a new place, with a new vibe, new scenery etc. Hereā€™s a pic from my Paris bday trip this Marchā¬‡ļø Look for photogs you can work with on Instagram and TikTok by typing in the name of the city youā€™re going to and photographer; so ā€œparis photographerā€ for example. THIS is the photographer I worked with in Paris and I absolutely loved her.

āž”ļø YOU DO NOT HAVE PERMISSION TO FOREVER AVOID DOING A PHOTOSHOOT FOR YOUR BIZ CAUSE YOU DONā€™T LIKE SOMETHING ABOUT THE WAY YOU LOOK RN. Look, I get it. I really get it. I know that photoshoots can bring out some serious insecurities about a whole host of things. But I decidedā€”in an effort to show up as the CEO Millionaire version of meā€” that I was going to completely disconnect my own feelings about my weight, wardrobe or anything else about the way I look with decisions regarding scheduling photoshootsā€”and itā€™s been SUCH a gamechanger. Itā€™s no longer a question of should I or shouldnā€™t I. I donā€™t look at photoshoots as a ā€œfun thing to do in your biz when you can.ā€ IMHO, these are a requirement of running your biz like a badass, get outta my way, industry disrupting CEO.

I swear, you can do this too.

FYI, I typically aim to do a photoshoot every 3-6 mos. You can come up with your own schedule, of course, as long as itā€™s not your current: ā€œI havenā€™t taken photos in 3 years and have no plans to cause itā€™s not importantā€ schedule.šŸ™„

OK, thatā€™s it. Really! You made it to the end.

My one last piece of advice is this: if youā€™re feeling even a teensy bit pumped up right now, do NOT let this momentum pass. Letā€™s get your photoshoot planned, booked, locked and loaded. Momentum is a tricky thing to wrangle and I donā€™t want you missing out on any.

Holy shit, this email thing is way the hell more fun that I thought it would be. But since this is a new project for me I truly, madly, deeply want to make sure that you get excited each week when you see my ass cannon ball into your inbox. So, if you ever have any thoughts, ideas, or feedback that will help me do tha [including specific ideas for things youā€™d like me to talk about, teach or dive more deeply into], please just hit reply and tell me everything. It really is me at the other end of this thing. And just so ya know: your opinion means the world to me. Love you. Mean it.šŸ’‹

**If you missed last weekā€™s email on my current ā€œcreative stackā€ where I shared alllll of my fave podcasts, books, creators and more, you can find that HERE.

**If you wanna do me a solid and spread the word about my Icon Status email, you can phone a friend, er, forward this to a friend and have them sign up HERE.

I keep getting asked: ā€œhey, E: what email provider are you using for your snappy new emails?ā€

So I wanted to share the deets in case you wanna use them too.

The platform is called Beehiiv and it was created by the team behind the insanely popular email Morning Brew. Itā€™s designed for those of us who are all in on growing our lists, looking at deep, juicy analytics reports and making it dead easy for ppl to share.

This isnā€™t sponsored at all, buuuut I do have an affiliate link. So if you wanna sign up and try it yourself, you can do that HERE.