šŸ¤‘All the Substack subscriptions I pay for...

In case you wanna subscribe too

šŸ¤  I PAY FOR A LOT OF CONTENT ONLINEā€¦AND I FEEL REALLY GOOD ABOUT THAT šŸ¤ 
As a biz coach & consultant, social media and branding expert, fractional CMO and [One] Membership hostess with the mostess, itā€™s literally my job to stay on top of trends and pay attention to everything the ā€œcreative classā€ is talking about. One of my main sources of info for doing this has become my Substack subscriptions.

IN THIS EMAIL:

šŸ„ø ALL THE SUBSTACK SUBSCRIPTIONS I PAY CASH MONEY FOR: Iā€™m gonna take you into the vault and share all my best sources, aka my Substack paid subscription listā€¦cause maybe you wanna be more in the know too.

Reading time: approx 7 minutes

Online paid content is having a major moment right now and the platform at the center of all the convos is Substack.

In case youā€™re not stackin it up yet, hereā€™s the scoop on Substack: they call themselves a ā€œnew economic engine for culture,ā€ and thatā€™s honestly a pretty great definition of what theyā€™re trying to do.

Itā€™s a community based email subscription platform for independent writers and creators to use as a place of creative expression, online influence and most importantly: income. They basically allow you to take full ownership over your own online community annnd your own intellectual property while also getting paid to do it.

And some writers an creators are making a LOT of friggin money.

You have your own online ā€œpublicationā€ which is essentially a central spot where all of your emails live [kinda like this page HERE where you can catch up on all of my past juicy emails], and you choose how often youā€™re going to write, what youā€™re going to write about and what you want to charge.

You can have a free publication, a free AND paid publication [certain posts are free and certain posts are paid] or a paid only publication.

Also when youā€™re a paid subscriber you have access to additional things like group chats for the publications on Substack [which, espesh for the fashion ones are typically going OFF on all sorts of stuff], the ability to comment [eh, who really cares?] but also sometimes private podcasts, access to Slack channels, Genevaā€™s or other private spots too.

IMHO, the coolest thing about Substack by far is the community. Itā€™s very easy to [and is encouraged!] to mention, tag and promote other Substackers who you want to support.

As a creator over there you also have the autonomy to write about really interesting, sometimes super niche-y stuff that interests you and lights you up without a bitchy editor over your shoulder [hereā€™s one called: bitches gotta eat! where you can read completely frigginā€™ HILARIOUS daily recaps of Judge Mathis TV episodes].

And so many former journalists, bloggers and content creators have really built themselves a big fat ā€œall inā€ community as well as a juicy, nothin to sneeze at income by moving on over to Substack.

And because I loooove the idea of being able to support other content creators as well as my obsesh with staying on top of all of the trends in biz, fashion and pop culture, Iā€™ve got quite a few Substacks Iā€™m currently subscribed to and reading on a daily basis [sidenote: my fave way to do this is on my ipad with Substackā€™s iPad specific app. Not sure why, but it just feels e-l-i-t-e] .

Ok, cool: so now lemme tell you about every single one of these Substackā€™s Iā€™m payin for in case you wanna subscribe too [and if not, coolioā€¦Iā€™ll keep curating all the info for you].

**NOTE: I donā€™t know any of these creators Iā€™m sharing below and donā€™t benefit if you subscribe or donā€™t [though some of them have ā€œleaderboardsā€ I might get put on]. Iā€™m just here sharing the writers and creators who I love, respect and keep me in the know cause, damn, it feels really good to support them.

**TRUTH TIME: Iā€™m actually thinking of doing a more personal, non biz related weekly email over on Substack too where I share fun shit like rando screenshots from phone, travel guides, product faves and my weird obsessions [like needlepoint] and stuff like that. What do you think???

TREND, BUSINESS, AND SOCIAL MEDIA
These are all my daily MUST reads.

āž”ļø Link In Bio: Written by social media ninja Rachel Karten [whoā€™s run social teams at Bon AppĆ©tit and Epicurious mags] itā€™s billed as a newsletter for social media managers, BUT, I ainā€™t a social media manager and I still absolutely love it. She shares social news, fab insights on trends [like this one about brands who get invited to random customerā€™s weddings and then decide to crash them] and her takes on everything going down in the worlds of social media and business.
$8/per month

āž”ļø Feed Me: This is Emily Sundbergā€™s newsletter about business, news culture and basically all the ā€œin the knowā€ shit that your trendiest biz friends are probably already talking about. Emily posts a kinda funny, ironic selfie of herself to go along with each post that I find oddly comforting and charmingā€¦but also, her hot takes and analysis are always smart, well thought out and make me think about things in diff ways. I loved this rundown of what people are actually saving money for in 2024 [spoiler alert: botox is high on the list].
$5/per month

āž”ļø Embedded: Embedded is your essential guide to whatā€™s good on the internet, written by Kate Lindsay. This one includes roundups of all of the most interesting links, articles and discussions on the internet, essays about cultural zeitgeist moments and internet habits of cool people. This was a fun read on the algorithmic quirks of Spotifyā€™s end of the year Wrapped feature.
$5/per month

āž”ļø After School by Casey Lewis: If youā€™re old like me and looking to get some inside info on the social media and consumption habits of Gen Z, well then lemme introduce you to your new goto BFF. She posts 5x a week and shares all about the trends, issues and cultural moments that our cutie little Gen Z kids are obsessed with. And just in case youā€™re curious exactly what Gen Z got for Christmas, Casey sat through a bajillion Christmas hauls on TikTok to create this list of most loved items.
$7/per month

āž”ļø ICYMI: Written by Lia Haberman this is a really smart deep dive into the marketing and branding habits of all of the companies we should all be paying attention to. Industry insights, trends, social analysisā€¦itā€™s all in there. As a paid subscriber you also get access to a google drive where Lia files away all of the social media trend reports she gets access to. This was such an interesting read that she dropped just today: Unhinged is 2024ā€™s First Marketing Directive.
$6/per month

āž”ļø The Sociology of Business: Iā€™m sure youā€™re thinking WHOA, $49 a month!? My first response would be: who decided that $5, $8 or $10 a month was the going rate for content subscriptions?šŸ¤” Iā€™m genuinely curious. My second response would be: this ainā€™t your mamaā€™s average rinky dink newsletter. Written by Ana Andjelic who wrote LEGIT one of the best books Iā€™ve ever ever ever read on branding and community: The Business of Aspiration, you get 4 monthly newsletters that are truly deep dive case studies or mini white papers on growth, culture, trends, strategy and brand building. This woman is smart AF and has such a next level clever take on the ā€œattentionā€ economyā€”I legit take notes on her emails. Annnnnd my third response would be: reminder, itā€™s my JOB to stay on top of this shit now, and holy shit does this chick help me do that.
$49/per month

FASHION & TRAVEL
Where to go and what to wear when you go there

āž”ļø The Love List: This one is from former journalist and current creative agency owner Jess Graves. She calls The Love List a ā€œnewsletter about the culture of shopping.ā€ Iā€™m obsessed with her New York City shopping map and her missive on whether or not the $860 High Sport pants are" ā€œworth itā€ā€”For the record, these are THE fashion item thatā€™s now being hotly and passionately discussed on literally every single fashion publication I read and, unsurprisingly, I now want them.
$10/per month

āž”ļø The Cereal Aisle by Leandra Medine Cohen: Written by the former Man Repeller founder, Cohen has been at the forefront of some of the most interesting, sometimes controversial fashion convos since 2010 [sidenote: how in the fuck was 2010 now FOURTEEN years ago?]. Since Iā€™m hardcore in my vintage jewelry era now, I loved this recent post: How to Wear Jewelry in the Winter.
$5/per month

āž”ļø Happy Hoteling: This oneā€™s from a creator I originally found and fell in love with on TikTok, Marissa Klurstein who has the most fab, bougie travel reccos, including a bunch of hotels Iā€™ve never heard of and now wanna drop mad cash money on. She also used to go to Capri every summer with her dad growing up so her Italy reccos are especially fantastico [also: #GOALS].
$10/per month

āž”ļø Jenny Sais Quoi: Hereā€™s the truth: I subscribed to this one cause 1. The writer, Jenny Walton lives in Milan and I have a weird Milan obsesh right now. 2. She used to be engaged to Scott Schuman, The Sartorialist, who Iā€™m also obsessed with. Buuut the problem is the two things Iā€™m obsessed with are not really Jenny related so Iā€™m not 100% sure this one is a fit for me. BUT we also have one major thing in common which is that weā€™re brooch obsessed [ok, obsessions x 3] so maybe we are actually meant to be after all. Hereā€™s her Milan List roundup.
$8/per month

āž”ļø Yolo Intel: This is a fab one is from the former Creative Director of CondĆ© Nast Traveler, Yolanda Edwards. Thereā€™s travel reccos, hotel breakdowns, packing advice and even playlists. Truth time: I ended up subscribing cause I wanted access to her Mexico City Black Book guide and it is really good.
$8/per month

āž”ļø A La Carte: Written by Ali LaBelle, who basically just seems like a chic cool ass chick with insane taste and a really interesting POV [for the record: sheā€™s a creative director and brand consultant]. ā€œĆ€ La Carte is a place to explore the ways we can live a life of creative abundanceā€ and includes things like recommendations, shopping roundups, gift ideas, travel info, and even some wild cards like job hunting and networking advice. I loved this thought piece on Personal Branding vs Personal Taste.
$40/per year

āž”ļø Magasin: This is a shopping digest and link-a-palooza with picks from all the chic-est sites and online sales from Laura Reilly. I loved her recent breakdown of every single thing she bought in 2023 with a cost-per-breakdown analysis.
$5/per month [This pub is actually free, BUT if you upgrade for $5/mo it all goes to non-profits and charity].

OTHER SHIT
Some other subs that donā€™t really fit into specific categories

āž”ļø Rich Text: I first subscribed to this Substack specifically for the extra monthly podcast you get with your upgraded subscription. I was already listening to Claire Fallon & Emma Grayā€™s other podcast Love to See It [a feminist podcast about reality dating shows, rom-coms, and what they say about us all] when they shared a preview of their Rich Text podcast on which they were doing Love Is Blind recaps. I was immediately hooked and still crazy love all of their their private podcasts eps. But Iā€™ve honestly come to love their ā€œThis Week in Recommendationsā€ curated roundups just as much. What can I say: Iā€™m a gigantic STAN for any and all juicy curated roundups full of product, podcast, book, TV show and movie suggestions. šŸ¤·šŸ»ā€ā™€ļø
$6/per month

āž”ļø SFGirlByBay: This one is a holdover my interior designer days as Victoria Smith is someone Iā€™ve followed and loved to read for many many years back when blogging was in its heyday. Now sheā€™s doing the Substack thing and itā€™s been fun to dive back into her world. I love her curated roundups, travel guides and, of course, her design-y content. Her ā€œbest ofā€ guides are my fave and the weirder the topic the better. Hereā€™s a good ā€œbest ofā€ on ā€œeuro vibe kitchen supplies.ā€
$5/per month

āž”ļø Things Worth Knowing with Farah Storr: Ok, honestly, uhm, Iā€™m not even really sure why Iā€™m paying for this one. I think it was because I was intrigued by the monthly online writerā€™s group she put together as it seemed like a diff spin on the typical Substack ā€œupgradesā€ I see. So Iā€™m not sure if Iā€™m gonna keep this one, but right now Iā€™m taking it for a test drive. She does link to some interesting articles and sites and I also do love her travel guides like: A Fashion Insiderā€™s Guide to Paris or Inside My Provence [sidenote: OMGGGG I wanna go to Provence so damn bad next Summer! I have a secret, uhm, maybe not so secret desire to buy an old dilapidated mini chateau and move there [like Jamie Beck], but Greg refuses to move anywhere else where we donā€™t speak the language for awhile, sooooo šŸ˜­].
$9/per month

**Ok, so those are all the paid ones! ā¬†ļø But I actually subscribe to a TON more free versions of Substacks, which I can share another time if you want me to!? [Hi Everyone With Hillary Kerr and Shop Rat by Emilia Petrarca are two freebie subscriptions that Iā€™m currently close to upgrading].

NON SUBSTACK CONTENT I PAY FOR:

āž”ļø Air Mail: This is Graydon Carterā€™s online media publication [Graydon was the editor of Vanity Fair magazine for many years] and Iā€™m kinda loving it. Because of his relationships heā€™s got a lot of super interesting, really talented people writing for him over there. And they send out there content in a series of weekly emails that go out on different days. I especially love their travel coverage [like THIS piece about a new hotel in the Marais district of Paris I now wanna go to or THIS piece about an estate in Scotland you can stay at. For the record, Iā€™m newly obsessed with Scotland and not cause of Outlanderā€”I tried, but I hate Claire with the fire of a thousand hot burning suns. Anyway, I wanna go there real bad].
$9.99/per month

āž”ļø NY Magazine: I really love all the online ā€œoffshootsā€ of NY Magazine: The Cut for style, culture and fashion news, The Strategist for shopping and ā€œbest ofā€ reccos and Vulture for TV recaps and news. I somehow didnā€™t even realize until the other day that one of my former fave blogs Curbed [which is all about real estate] is still around and now under the umbrella of NY mag [I shared THIS piece about the rise of Innkeepers on social mediaā€¦INNfluencers if you will šŸ˜‚]. Also, I desperately want to be an INNfluencer.
$50/per year

āž”ļø The New York Times: This is probably the real world publication I read [and love] the most. I also dig the iPad app for this one a lot and usually make my way over there after I do my Substack deep dive.
Free for me cause we use Gregā€™s dadā€™s login šŸ«£

IN SUMMARY
Here are your takeaways for today

āž”ļø Substack whaaaa?: If youā€™ve never checked out whatā€™s goin on over on Substack, I def think itā€™s worth a looksie. Thereā€™s lots of excitement and momentum over on that platform right now [minus, uhm, a lil problem that theyā€™re having with some Nazis šŸ˜³]. In addition to all of my subscriptions, this paid content thing is a trend Iā€™m watching closely and, in my opinion, is only going to keep getting bigger and bigger. Right now Substack is front and center in that movement and so I want you to know about it too.

āž”ļø Pay content creators: It takes a LOT of fucking work to create dope content. If youā€™re in a financial position to swing it, I would highly encourage you to throw $5 or $10 bucks toward a few creators who you really love and wanna support. Even though I know Iā€™m not going to read every single piece of content on every Substack Iā€™m subscribed to, it feels really good to be ā€œinvestingā€ my money in the talent of other creators and writers [a lot of Podcasters even offer subscription upgrades on Patreon!].

Itā€™s also just a great place to be if youā€™re as obsessed as being ā€œin the knowā€ as I am. Now again: I honestly consider this part of my job as Iā€™m always advising other biz owners, my CMO clients and now writing an exclusive monthly trends report for our [One] Membership. Iā€™m constantly getting asked about all of my ā€œsourcesā€ and where Iā€™m finding all the info and trends I share about on social media. Welp, it very often comes from the writers and creators Iā€™ve shared with you on this list ā¬†ļø [so yeahā€¦this email is kinda gold. You probs wanna save it cause Iā€™ve already done all the research for you šŸ’‹].

And duh: yep, ALL of these subscriptions are tax write off, so cha ching.

āž”ļø Consider creating your own Substack: This Substack thang isnā€™t necessarily a fit for every biz owner, but it might be one for you? See if this makes sense as either an add-on to your social media presence orrrrr as an alternative that might allow you to stay the hell o-f-f of social media more.

Iā€™m currently talking to two clients who are thinking of starting their own Substacks and Iā€™m honestly close to pulling the trigger myself.

[Again, Iā€™m really intrigued by the idea of doing a ā€œfluffierā€ personal weekly email over there about fun shit thatā€™s not biz related [fashion, TV, shopping, random links and articles, Amazon faves etc], so I will keep you posted if I do and report back on the Substack experience from a creator POV.]

As per uzsh, just slam your finger down on that ā€œreplyā€ button if you wanna chat about anything Iā€™ve shared about today [yep, itā€™s actually me here!].

I JUST finished up with our weekly Office Hours sesh for my [One] Membership community and Iā€™m so damn fired up and inspired by the conversations we had in there. We talked about THIS very email [and the gigantic changes itā€™s sparked in my biz], whether or not freebies are officially dead, my creative process whenever Iā€™m helping clients reinvent the vibes of their biz and the specific steps I go through when Iā€™m planning or launching a new idea or offer. Iā€™m bringing this up to you because Iā€™ve never ever ever seen anything like this kickass group weā€™ve put together before and the ideas, inspo and money moves that people are making already is like šŸ¤Æ. Thereā€™s still space for you too in case you wanna join us.

See you next week.

Love you, mean it.