The 'Hot, Smart, Rich' Secret to Running Your BusinessšŸ‘™

Ever wondered how a viral TikTok trend could redefine your biz? Here's my startup revelation...

šŸ•¶ļø BRBā€¦Iā€™m off to go take my daily hot, smart, rich girl walkšŸ•¶ļø
Keep reading to learn about a new framework for running your biz that just might help you shake things up in exactly the way youā€™ve been craving.

IN THIS EMAIL:

šŸŽ™ļøHow a recent podcast episode made me wanna run my biz like a tech startup [minus the bro vibes].
ā³ Action steps for you if you wanna run your biz like this too
3ļøāƒ£ Of my fave things Iā€™m fucking with right now
šŸ“ A list of links and resources for you

Reading time: approximately 13 minutes

āœļø MINI TRAINING: Time to pull out your bougie notebook [THIS one is a new fave] and your Frixion pens. My email Mini-trainings are quickie, actionable lessons that I share that often include new concepts and approaches that I want to help you implement in your own biz or life so we can be rich bitch badasses together.

HOT, SMART, RICH GIRLS & STARTUPS

Thereā€™s this chick I follow on TikTok named Maggie Sellers. Sheā€™s a tech investor who shares killer biz advice, but she also shares fave skincare holy grails, product obsessions, and other lifestyle content that sheā€™s mostly built around a concept she coined: hot, smart, rich girls. 

My guess is that this idea originated as an offshoot of the whole ā€œhot girl walkā€ social media trend thatā€™s been front and center on the interwebs since 2021. But hereā€™s a bit more scoop on her hot, smart, rich concepts directly from Mags:

@maggiesellers_

#stitch with @Sierra Michelle what is HOT SMART RICH and why i started it #womenempowerment #hotsmartrich #thatgirl #itgirl #financegirlie... See more

Sheā€™s invested in companies with seriously high cool factors: Locker [follow me here to see everything I currently want to buy], deux [good for you cookie dough], Nudestix [simple, easy to use makeup], flaus [the worldā€™s first electric flosser] and lots more.

Needless to say, Iā€™m here to announce my candidacy for President of the Maggie Sellers fan club.

Recently Maggie was interviewed on Boujee Best Friend with Koko [episode 54, Startups for Dummies; note: I donā€™t crazy love this pod, but I really liked this specific ep] and she laid out exactly what it looks like to run a startup.

But hold up, wait a minute. First letā€™s establish: WTF is a startup anyway?

Hereā€™s her definition: an early stage biz not traded publicly thatā€™s typically made up of a small group of ppl [or a single founder] who identify and believe in a shared vision, and want to bring that shared vision to the mainstream. She added that typically startups disrupt a boring and mundane area or industry that lacks innovation.

Whoa.

As she was talking, I realized that Iā€™m actually already approaching everything I do in my biz in this startup-y way. And you [and all my clients] are kinda, sorta like my angel investors.

NOTE: This startup approach is not for everyoneā€¦and itā€™s def NOT the way most ppl in the online coaching, biz, service provider space are doing it [which, duh: is always my first sign that Iā€™m onto something].

But she helped me realize that, as an innovation, ā€œstand the fuck out from the crowd always and foreverā€ junkie, I 100% want this to be my intentional framework for running my biz moving forward.

I want to breakdown this startup framework for you step-by-step, cause I know that you-n-me are twinsies, and you may wanna run your biz like this too:

HOW TO RUN YOUR BIZ LIKE A STARTUP
1ļøāƒ£ Build a community first:

It doesnā€™t really matter on what platform your community lives on, but put time, effort and intention into connecting with ppl who are gonna be all in on you whatever the hell youā€™re selling [and yes, you can and should do this even before youā€™re ready to sell your shit].šŸ‘Æā€ā™€ļø

Also, once you have this community: plant seeds for what you want to do nextā€¦even before youā€™ve figured it all out or feel ready to talk about it.

ā¬‡ļø Hereā€™s an example of the power of building community first: 

I used to be a successful interior designer in Los Angeles. I had clients, multiple projects, and a day-to-day life filled with furniture shopping, paint store runs, and ā€œlife or deathā€ decisions about wallpaper. My entire Instagram account was built around this design biz.

When we moved to Mexico 5+ years ago, I decided to honor my intuition, switch things up and lean into a little idea Iā€™d been hosting rent free in the back of my mind forevsā€¦ and so I become a coach. Pretty much overnight I stopped posting pretty pictures of interiors on Instagram and instead switched to offering up biz advice, personal branding scoop and yelling at you when your brain is being a dick.

Did absolutely EVERYONE in my Instagram community love it? Hells to the no.

BUT!

Because I had spent endless amounts of time previously pouring into, getting to know, and building my community, most of my followers were excited and willing to come along on this gigantic pivot with me, no questions asked.

ā° COMING SOON: I know Iā€™m just firing up this whole weekly email thang as a new new part of my biz, but the fact that youā€™re already here means you-n-me are kinda sorta in bestie adjacent territory.šŸ‘„ 

And as a bestie, you get the inside scoop on e-v-e-r-y-t-h-i-n-g Iā€™m doing way the hell before anyone else does. So whenever you see a ā€œcoming soonā€ around here, that means youā€™re getting VIP insider-y info on something new I wanna do or try in my biz.ā¬‡ļøā¬‡ļøā¬‡ļø

JOIN ME IN MY NEXT MASTERCLASS:
HOW TO CREATE THE VIBES OF YOUR BUSINESS

Iā€™m gonna brag here for one hot second [sidenote: Iā€™m officially encouraging you to brag more about your own biz tooā€¦maybe even today on social media??šŸ§].

Anyway, Iā€™m bragging today about that fact that almost on a daily basis, I have someone showing up in my DM ā€˜s to tell me how cool my brand is, how dope my photos are and that the general vibes of my biz are šŸ”„šŸ”„šŸ”„.

While Iā€™m always flattered AF to get messages like these, also: this is not an accident, yo.

In fact, Iā€™m constantly strategizing, brainstorming and challenging myself about how I can do an even better job of standing out, trying new things, and upping my game on the vibes front.

And, shockingly, this is something I almost never, ever, ever hear other biz owners and coaches talk about.

At this point, weā€™re pretty much ALL in on the idea that we need certain things in our biz: customer personas, a color palette, logos & fonts, brand photos, brand voices, etc.

But baaaaaby doll: in my opinion, this ā¬†ļø doesnā€™t even begin to scratch the surface if, like me, youā€™re OBSESSED with embracing your role as an innovatorā€¦the person in your industry who everyone is always watching [and copying]ā€¦a true ā€œcategory of one.ā€

Cause if you are, youā€™re gonna need to go way the hell deeper than a sexy color palette or a lame ass headshot.šŸ¤·šŸ»ā€ā™€ļø

In this masterclass Iā€™m going to teach you: WTF the vibes of your biz are and exactly how to create vibes that are stop em in their tracks unforgettableā€¦ANNNNND fully and unique-ly you.

In this 90 minute masterclass, youā€™ll learn:

āž”ļø All of the different vibe ā€œcategoriesā€ I focus on as an [almost!] 7-figure online business. Weā€™ll go into detail about what you should be paying attention to and what you should skip.

āž”ļø How to create your own biz ā€œvibe formulaā€ā€¦cause as I say again again again: you can either A. commit to intentionally creating your own biz vibes OR B. let your community decide what your vibes are for you.šŸ„“ Unsurprisingly, I think option B is unacceptable.

āž”ļø What fashion ā€œstyle cues,ā€ ā€œbrand catch phrasesā€ and ā€œthreadsā€ are when it comes to your biz vibes [and no, Iā€™m not talking about the new Instagram platform that we all went gaga for week one and havenā€™t logged into since].

āž”ļø Everything I do when Iā€™m planning one of our next level photoshootsā€¦and yep, Iā€™m gonna include details on how I create and organize my Pinterest boards, specific brainstorming around props, fashion, locations and more [and trust me: whether youā€™re doing this on your own or with a professional photographer, this advice is going to be game changing. Cause those lame ass headshots of yours ainā€™t gonna cut it anymore, boošŸ„ø].

āž”ļø All of my fave Vibe-y resources, apps, links and platforms for you to steal and use so that you can immediately start taking action on reinventing your own vibes with intention and strategy.

And sooooo much more.

This will be a webinar style masterclass that includes 60 minutes of live teaching as well as 30 minutes of answering your specific vibe-y questions about your own business.

šŸ’” How to Create the Vibes Of Your Business Masterclass is going down on Thursday, November 16th @ 10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT and 1pm ET. You can grab your spot HERE for only $67. And yep, there will be a replay.

**If youā€™re a current 1:1 client of mine or a client of the Icon Agency, woo hoo: you get in for free! Message me for your 100% off coupon.

Ok, now back to our regularly scheduled programming about running your biz like a startup. šŸ“ŗ

HOW TO RUN YOUR BIZ LIKE A STARTUP
2ļøāƒ£ Immerse yourself, be curious and learn all you can: 

[Iā€™m going to add ā€œin non-traditional waysā€ to Maggieā€™s advice].

Now, watch the fuck out.

Cause thereā€™s also a danger [espesh in the earlier stages of your biz] of getting so wrapped up in learning and immersing that one day you take a look around in your bougie AF office and you realize: hmm, itā€™s been 4 months, 1 week and 3 days and Iā€™ve taken exactly zero action.šŸ„“

So yeah: donā€™t do that.

Interested Season 10 GIF by Curb Your Enthusiasm

Gif by curbyourenthusiasm on Giphy

But while weā€™re talking about learning and immersing, I also want you to embrace this idea of creating your own learning stack using non-traditional sources for learning and inspiration from different industries.

ā¬‡ļø Hereā€™s an example of this in action in my own biz: 

I specifically try NOT to follow other coaches, course creators and service providers. Both because I donā€™t want to get too caught up in what the rest of the industry is doing, AND because most of them are sharing vanilla, basic bitch advice. šŸ¤·šŸ»ā€ā™€ļø

And Iā€™m not a basic bitch [and, duh: neither are you].

One of the biggest mistakes I see my clients and other biz owners making on the daily is that they continue to consult basic bitches [who have also never, ever, ever actually done the things they wanna do] in search of innovative, next level, out of the box advice.

Stop doing that shit, cause it just doesnā€™t work.

This is why I intentionally choose to follow: tech investors, creative directors at agencies, product based biz founders, corporate CMOā€™s and creators in other industries with zero connection to my own.

One of my very fave compliments to receive is: ā€œyour programs and ideas are always so damn unique, E dawg.ā€ If youā€™re wondering why that is, itā€™s honestly due in large part to this exact practice.ā¬†ļø

You need to do more of this too.

POLL:

Do you want me to create a list of some of my must follow innovative creators and industry disruptors? ā¬‡ļø

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Number three is my absolute fave one on the list.

HOW TO RUN YOUR BIZ LIKE A STARTUP
3ļøāƒ£ Remember that high risk often translates into high rewards: 

If, like me, you wanna run your biz like a startup with innovation front and center, you gotta remember that thatā€™s gonna require you taking big swings and embracing big risk. Truth time: this practice ainā€™t for the faint of heart. In fact, most people canā€™t handle this approach. But if youā€™re like me: weā€™re the sort of biz owners that donā€™t really wanna exist in any other world, amirite? So bring on the big ass risks AND the big ass rewards, please and thank you.šŸ¤‘

GIF by Hustle

Gif by hustle on Giphy

ā¬‡ļø Hereā€™s an example of this high risk, high reward thang:

When Greg and I came up with the idea for the Icon Agency, there was legit not a single example of anyone else doing what we wanted to do successfully. I had no clue if anyone would be willing to pay us a single penny for our offer [much less $25,000 for our starter package].

It was also going to require us making a gigantic pivot in our bizā€”a biz that was already on track to make 7 figures on itā€™s own with our coaching/online course model. There was really no good reason to switch things up and launch it.

So, of COURSE, I was all in.šŸ¤£

At this point in my biz, I know myselfā€¦and switching things up is kinda my baseline [hello fellow Manifesting Generators].

We ended up selling out our first round of agency founder spots and making almost $150,000 on our first launch.

Big risk = big reward.

YOUR TAKEAWAYS & ACTION STEPS IF YOU WANNA RUN YOUR BIZ LIKE A STARTUP TOO:

āž”ļø Running your biz like a startup is def not the easiest option, but if youā€™re as obsessed with standing out from the crowd as I am, it might be a killer gameplan for you too. Use this as motivation to keep things innovative AF [ i.e when youā€™re thinking about how you want to structure a program or intro a new offer, ask yourself if youā€™re stepping into those creative startup vibes and really making things unique].

āž”ļø If youā€™re not already laser focused on building your ride or die community on social media, what can you do to switch that up? Some quickie ideas: ā­ļøHelp your followers get to know you more by regularly sharing one of your fun non-biz related obsessions [like my fixation on TV shows about unsupervised rich teens šŸ˜‚]; ā­ļøDo a week of lives and focus on juicy, action related trainings that will help your community move forward in a big wayā€”give it all away for free; ā­ļøStart spending extra time in your DMā€™sā€”go to your followers accounts, see what theyā€™re up to and ditch the simple emoji responses so that you can send some meaningful, thoughtful messages back to anyone who sends a DM.

āž”ļø That thing that you keep thinking about doing in your bizā€”the idea that you just canā€™t seem to shakeā€”itā€™s time to fucking take a chance and TRY IT. I know it might feel scary and hard, but I also know you can do hard things. In case you needed a reminder of that, boom.

šŸ“Œ THINGS Iā€™M FUCKING WITH RIGHT NOW: This recurring column [yes, emails can have ā€œcolumnsā€ā€”remember Iā€™m magazine obsessed, okurrrr?] is where Iā€™m going to share things Iā€™m loving, doing, looking forward to or trying in my life. Kinda like a monthly favorites, except, Iā€™m over the top and will probs do it every week or two. Oh! Also, these things may have nothing to do with bizā€¦or they might. You know Iā€™m a girlie who needs options.

3 THINGS Iā€™M FUCKING WITH RIGHT NOW:

  1. šŸ‘“šŸ»The Golden Bachelor
    Look, do not pass go, do not collect $200ā€¦just immediately catch-up on any missed eps and start watching this show [in case youā€™re not familiar with the premise, itā€™s The Bachelor, but instead of an annoying, vapid bro, itā€™s with an adorable 72-year-old widow named Jerry] . I honestly havenā€™t been interested in The Bachelor in a solid decadeā€¦and Iā€™m ā€œwatch live on Thursday nights cause I canā€™t wait one more secondā€ HOOKED. Youā€™ll laugh, youā€™ll cry, and youā€™ll feel inspired AF to see gorgeous, smart, incredible women in their 60ā€™s and 70ā€™s FINALLY portrayed on TV as sexy, desirable love interests.


  2. šŸŽ„Getting ready for the Christmas Hallmark movie season
    Most ppl get excited about celebrating the actual Christmas holiday, but Iā€™m Jewish and celebrate Hanukkah. How-eh-vurrrr, the one Christmas activity Iā€™m all the hell in on in [and I mean all in HARD] is watching the entire slate of new Hallmark Christmas movies. I cannot explain to you my deep and undying love for these movies that legit all have the same e-x-a-c-t plot: a man or woman unexpectedly ends up in a small, but endlessly charming, town for the Christmas holidayā€¦and after a rocky and combative start, falls in love with the man or woman who they thought was their arch nemesis [who they, SURPRISE, end up needing to spend lotssss of time with]. The Hallmark Christmas movie season kicks off TOMORROW on October 20th and fyi-zers Iā€™m watching them all with my Peacock streaming subscription [hereā€™s a list of this yearā€™s line up], Iā€™m so deeply addicted I even listen to Hallmark Christmas movie recap podcasts. šŸ«£ **Should I start a series on social media called: An opinionated Jew reviews Hallmark Christmas Movies?ā€ā€”cause you know Iā€™m gonna have t-h-o-u-g-h-t-s.


  3. šŸ§‹These Maple Tahini Lattes
    I make a batch of 2 or 3 days worth ahead of time, put them in the fridge [I store these creamy, dreamy lattes in mason jars] and then pull them out in the morning after I walk our adorable senior Basset Hounds, Lenny & Abe. Natch, I add my round vibe-y ice cubes and serve the whole thing in a sexy wine glass with a gold metal straw.

THE LINKS ARE LINKING: 

šŸŽ„ Maggie Sellers on TikTok
šŸŽ™ļø Maggieā€™s podcast Interview on Boujee Best Friend
šŸ” Follow me on Locker [Locker is one of Maggieā€™s startup investmentsā€”itā€™s kinda like Pinterest but it specifically helps you track all the shit on the Internet you wanna buy]. I currently have collections saved for Home stuff, fashion, gift ideas, lounge-y clothes and more. Do you HAVE to have a locker if you all have Pinterest? Uhm, noā€¦but for me it just feels like a fun new spot.
šŸ“ŗ Watch the Golden Bachelor [Honestly, you can skip this other stuff on the list if you wanna ā¬†ļøā¬‡ļø but this is the one suggestion of mine Iā€™m really going to have to put my foot down about. WATCH. THIS. SHOW por favor.
šŸŽ„ Start watching all the Christmas Hallmark movies with me two full months before the actual holiday. Yes, October is ridiculously early to be doing this, but arenā€™t you working on your membership application to join the Zero Fucks Club???
šŸ Make 17 batches of maple tahini lattes so you can have bougie iced coffee with me every morning.
šŸ’³ Bop around on my Amazon store. It has curated Amazon lists of all my fave products for your home, kitchen, tech life and pets [I do get commissions, but shit is no more expensive for youā€¦win/win]
šŸ•¶ļø Grab your spot at my next masterclass: How to Create The Vibes of your Business. If youā€™ve ever thought to yourself: damn, I love the vibes of Ericaā€™s business, well then hello. I want to teach you EVERYTHING I do in my own biz to create those vibes. Weā€™re going to cover a lotttt: photos, brand catch phrases, marketing, customer touchpoints and more. And itā€™s only $67
šŸ‘Æā€ā™€ļø Letā€™s be friends on TikTok I mean, Iā€™d also love to be friends with you on Instagram, but if Iā€™m keepin it real: TikTok is just way the hell more fun for me these days.

Holy shit, this email thing was way the hell more fun that I thought it would be. But since this is a new thing for me I truly, madly, deeply want to make sure that you get excited each week when you see my ass cannon ball into your inbox. So, if you ever have any thoughts, ideas, or feedback that will help me do that, please just hit reply and tell me everything. Your opinion means the world to me. Love you. Mean it.