A Business Vibes Case Study: The Maker Hotel

Exactly what I mean when I talk about the "vibes of your biz"

⚡️ A deep dive “business vibes Case Study: The Maker Hotel in Hudson, NY ⚡️
Keep reading for a shitload of real life examples of exactly what I mean when I talk about this “vibes of your business” concept. I want to help you master this so that you can become your own biz vibes DJ and take over the world.

IN THIS EMAIL:

📭 A quickie reminder of WTF the vibes of your biz are and why you need to make this a top priority in 2024
🪩 CASE STUDY: I’m gonna take you through a ton of examples [with pics⬇️] of how another business, The Maker Hotel, is creating some kickass biz vibes
✍️ TO DOs for you to implement to start working on upleveling your own biz vibes

Reading time: approx 8 minutes

✏️ CASE STUDY: My email Case Studies include deep dives into real world examples of the marketing, branding and biz concepts I teach. The idea is: by the time you’re done reading through this case study, you’re brain’s gonna be exploding with ideas you can steal and use for your own business. Today’s case study is breaking down my “how to create the vibes of your business” concept using a hotel that my husband Greg and I just stayed at on our trip to Upstate NY this week.

➡️ CAN YOU FILL ME IN AH-GAIN ON EXACTLY WTF THE VIBES OF YOUR BUSINESS ARE, E DAWG? ⬇️

I sure the hell can. In fact, I’m gonna shout it as loud as I can for the people in the back…

The vibes of your business are the ever changing collection of unique elements, both tangible and intangible, that make up all the moving parts of your personal brand and biz. These vibes collectively represent who you are, what you’re all about and why you’re obviously the ONLY ONE your customer should be thinking about.

Creating your own unique biz vibes requires a lot of strategy, intention and forethought. Either you can tell me what the vibes of your biz are, or I’ll decide what they are on my own…it’s one or the other.

**📌 Creating unforgettable vibes in my own biz is one of the main tools I lean on in my never ending quest to establish myself as a “category of one” in my industry.

The solarium dining space at The Maker Hotel

🗣️ A BIZ VIBES CASE STUDY: THE MAKER HOTEL IN HUDSON, NY 🗣️

I wanna do this vibes deep dive with you on a hotel that Greg and I JUST stayed at in Hudson, NY: The Maker.

The biggest challenge with this whole “how to create the vibes of your biz” concept is that there’s no way to give you a simple checklist of shit you can run through, create and then, bim, bam BOOM: the vibes of your biz are immaculate.

And this is because the vibes of your business are gonna be completely different than the vibes of mine. Your biz vibes will most likely be made up of different things, executed differently, annnnnd positioned differently.

Annnnd, the vibes of your biz are something you’re never done creating..it’s an every day ongoing process.

Which is why I used the DJ reference above.

Just like a DJ curates and creates their own perfect mix of music, you need to do the same thing in your own biz. All day, erry day.

But this is actually one of those good news/bad news situations. It’s “bad,” cause yeah: not being able to give you a solid, universal checklist does make shit a smidge more challenging for you as a biz owner who’s dying for those unique, one-of-a-kind vibes. But it’s also great news because it actually gives you ultimate flexibility and creativity.

I wanna use the Maker Hotel as our life example of a business that is verrrry effectively creating and pulling off what, IMHO, are next level, “OMG I need more of whatever the fuck this is” sorts of vibes.

Cause I think it’s going to inspire you as much as it did me.

**For the record: this is not a sponsored email, I paid for my hotel room with my own cash money and The Maker has no earthly clue that I’m writing about them.

One of the Maker Hotel’s lounges [there’s a vibe-y fireplace just out of view]

The Maker Hotel is located in upstate NY in a town called Hudson.

Hudson is about two hours north of NYC and it’s this fabulously chic little town filled with insanely delish restaurants, too cool for school [in the best way possible] vintage shops, loads of antique stores, beautiful old architecture and a seemingly eclectic group of smart, creative, “I wanna be friends with every single one of you” New York City expats [and weekend visitors].

Greg and I plan to move from Mexico City back to the NYC area in the next year, and we’re actually thinking of just skipping the city altogether and going straight upstate.

Hudson, NY is one of the towns that’s at the top of our hit list for places to potentially move to.

We’d love to buy another piece of real estate to add to our Airbnb empire [currently we Airbnb our home in Los Angeles in case you have a trip planned there and need a fab spot to stay in Northeast LA. You can just book it up, or hit reply and ask me any questions you might have about renting it].

Anyway, let’s get back to the vibes of your biz and how you’re going to make them unforgettable.

The second you walk into The Maker Hotel, there are v-i-b-e-s being served right from go.

This means my brain immediately got to work connecting the dots and putting together the puzzle pieces to understand what this whole hotel, space, town and experience was gonna be about [REMINDER: NONE OF THIS WAS BY ACCIDENT…the creator of this hotel very much wanted this process to unfold in exactly the way it did].

✍️ LET’S MAKE A LIST OF WORDS THAT IMMEDIATELY CAME TO MIND FOR ME AFTER HANGING AT THE MAKER HOTEL ✍️

Luxe furniture, decor and architectural details are everywhere

THE MAKER HOTEL VIBES ACCORDING TO MOI
Here’s a list of some [semi bizarro] words, phrases, concepts, people, and just general vibes that popped into my head after spending time in this hotel:
➡️ Luxe
➡️ Rich [in texture, color and feel]
➡️ Sexy Tudor [like the line of royalty, not the style of architecture—I’m thinking of the Showtime TV show]
➡️ Cheeky & Unpredictable
➡️ Elevated
➡️ Sofia Coppola [I don’t know SC but I just know she’d love the hayl out of this hotel based on her movies]
➡️ English country estate [or French]
➡️ Club-y [i.e. exclusive]
➡️ Aspirational
➡️ Interior design [and antiques]
➡️ New money
➡️ World travels [steamer trunks, first class and vintage Louis Vuitton or Gucci luggage]
➡️ Collected & curated
➡️ Fun, Elevated comfort food
➡️ We’ve thought of everything
➡️ Unique touches that you have to be in the know to even appreciate or understand [like hand painted wallpaper]
➡️ Speakeasy
➡️ Old English Sheepdogs or Standard Poodles [or Yes! Even Basset Hounds]
➡️ Off menu items [if you know you know]
➡️ Bougie smells [I imagine everyone who stays there has a signature scent]
➡️ A vintage convertible Mercedes like THIS
➡️ Having your “regular” room every time you come
➡️ Tennis bracelets and skirts [but not cause you’re gonna actually play tennis]; also the US Open or Wimbledon
➡️ James Bond’s cousin [so not full on JB but def has some of those understated vibes]
➡️ Very intentional [absolutely nothing in that space is random]
➡️ Some brands that come to mind when I think of The Maker [even though I did not see any of these brands there]: Molton & Brown, Byredo, Mad et Len, Auberge, Soho House, RayBan and Tumi.

**REMINDER: I did not actually see ANY of these things there ⬆️…these are just the vibes I got.

**HOLD UP, WAIT A MINUTE: Honestly, I could go on and on with this list…can you say the same about your brand? You need to understand how incredible it is to have me sitting here brainstorming so specifically about the Maker’s vibes with such ease. ⬆️ Also, we were only there for ONE NIGHT! This is the shit I dream of as a branding/marketing ninja who’s creating my own brand…and I want the same exact thing for you too.

YOUR NEXT STEPS:
Recreate this exercise above on a google doc:

➡️ Make a list of words, phrases, feelings, people, places and things that come to mind when you think of your own business. And go deep here. Look at things like: what’s the experience of working with you, what does your social media footprint look like, your deliverables, client experience, products, offers, etc?—then make a list of all the words and phrases that come to mind.

➡️ I would do this exercise on your own and then ask a few of your fave clients or customers to do the same for you. It’s hella important to see how you’re being perceived and whether or not you’re effectively positioning your brand [i.e. do all of these words and phrases match up with the vibes you’re trying to create?].

You can even ask your audience on Instagram to weigh in and include a question box so that ppl can send in words or phrases that come to mind.

💥 BONUS TIP: After doing this exercise, you may discover that there’s a pretty significant disconnect here regarding the vibes that you’re trying to create, and the actual vibes you’re creating. If that’s the case, don’t freak out—that’s ok [and also SUPER common]. I promise you: this shit can be fixed. But you can’t fix what you’re not aware of, so it just means it’s time to get to work.

👀 SOME EXPERIENCES I HAD AT THE MAKER THAT HELPED ME TO UNDERSTAND THEIR VIBES 👀

CHECK IN PROCESS:
The check-in process was very intentionally PERSONAL at The Maker.

Truth time: It was a teensy bit confusing when we first walked into the hotel [which is something I would suggest they address and update, cause those first few moments COUNT. And mine were spent unsure what to do or where to go].

You enter The Maker through their cafe which is on the main drag in Hudson called Warren Street. The cafe is beautiful space, but it’s obvs not a hotel lobby. That is, however, where they also have their hotel office.

I would later learn that that we enter through the cafe because the door you would walk through to enter the central space of the hotel remains locked from the outside.

This means that as a guest your privacy and experience there is truly looked after.

Anyway, we were checked in by a wonderful woman named Joanna. Coincidentally, Joanna moved from Mexico earlier this year to Hudson [WHAT are the chances!? We took that as a sign].

We were told to leave our bags in the cafe so that they could be brought up to our room and we moved into one of the lounge-y areas in the hotel.

Joanna then took us through all the information we might need about the hotel: the restaurants, hours, etc and then gave us a tour.

She also explained their turn down service and morning service and asked about our preferences.

For their turndown service at night they offer tea, and this was by far my fave, CBD gummies to help you sleep [and for the record, they were amazing].

In the morning they bring coffee and the NYT times newspaper so she asked how we liked our coffee.

She then showed us to our room [They actually upgraded us—another amazing touch—and took us to Room #7].

SOME VIBE-Y THINGS I NOTICED RIGHT AWAY DURING THIS PROCESS:

➡️ I absolutely loved the personal tour so that I could better understand the layout of the hotel and where everything was [including the most incredible retro gym next door].
➡️ I was able to see and hear about fab touches around the hotel [like hand painted wallpaper and the curated art collection].
➡️ I was also able to hear more about the hotel’s history and the renovation of the space. This connected me to the hotel immediately and gave me a feeling of ownership and understanding.
➡️ All of the fireplaces in the hotel were on [it was not a particularly cold day when we arrived but I absolutely loved this and would have done the same if it were my space].
➡️ Asking about our preferences [re: the morning coffee and turndown service] showed us a level of care and attention that was immediately being paid to us that was over the top.
➡️ There was care and thought put into all of the hotel’s decor and furniture [down to the color coordinated giant bookshelf you can see above]. As an interior designer, this is something that I am always paying way closer attention to than most, but it’s especially amazing for me when I see a space like The Maker because I know how much time and planning went into literally every single corner of the space.
➡️ Think about the “vibes” you create in your biz simply by offering [or not offering] particular things: I was IMMEDIATELY won over with CBD gummies. That is a level of detail and forethought that you almost never see in a hospitality experience.
➡️ Fab vibe-y Jazz music was playing in the hotel and a diff fab, vibe-y jazz station was playing in our room already when we walked in.
➡️ There was an ipad on the bedside table with a homescreen that immediately gave you wifi info. I cannot TELL you how often I have to ask about the damn wifi passwords when it’s legit one of the easiest and obvious things to solve for. Also, the iPad said: we’re hip and cool [an Apple association is kind of everything for me].
➡️ Every single staff member we passed during the tour [and there were a LOT of them] all said “good afternoon” or “welcome” when they walked by while smiling.
➡️ There was an “ah-ha” factor walking into our room and I knew [cause I had been stalking the hotel for awhile now] that each room in the hotel was different. Again, even THAT fact says volumes to me. It’s way the hell easier to create a space where you just order 10 of the same pieces of furniture, use the same paint color, rugs etc…there was intentional care and thought put into the design, layout and decor of EACH ROOM.

DINNER IN THE HOTEL RESTAURANT:
We had an incredible meal in the solarium room of the restaurant

I don’t remember the name of the restaurant [or if it even had one] but we had a delish dinner there on the day we checked into the hotel.

SOME VIBE-Y THINGS I NOTICED RIGHT AWAY:

➡️ The space was incredible…it looks amazing during the day for sure, but there is a special vibe in there at night too when you’re basically sitting and eating underneath the stars.
➡️ I asked for a Rusa [which is my fave drink in Mexico: salted rim, fresh lime juice and sparkling water]. They happily prepared it for me, put it in a gorgeous glass and made it feel special.
➡️ They have an additional menu for their cocktail lounge in the back of the space [which looked INCREDIBLE, by the way even though we did not go], and they happily allowed us to order off of that menu too [there is no bigger pet peeve than all sorts of weird random rules like “you can do this with this menu, but not that with that menu” type of shit.
➡️ The menu was interesting, elevated, but not super ridic [I KNOW you know the sorts of menus I’m talking about]. And the food was incredible.
➡️ We ordered the truffle fries to start as we just felt like some comfort food, and they honestly changed my life. They were that good. Now there is only life before the truffle fries and life after…and I don’t wanna think about life before. 🤣 
➡️ Our waiter was so fab…he just seemed like a cool dude. He was dressed well [but not like a waiter…in his own clothes], had great recommendations, and just the right amount of humor.
➡️ We didn’t have a reservation and they were super nice to accommodate us anyway. But! They also said: our reservation is for 7:30 so we will need you to skedaddle before then. And even that was so helpful [we were done way before, for the record].

MORNING COFFEE DROP:
Our morning coffee was left in a beautiful bag hanging on our door.

Reminder: we were asked the day before at check-in exactly what our preferences were, and in the morning we were left the most fab, chic bag of goodies [which you can see above].

SOME VIBE-Y THINGS I NOTICED RIGHT AWAY DURING THIS PROCESS:

➡️ All of the elements of our goodie bag were carefully sourced, curated and thought out. Nothing in the bag was an “accident.”
➡️ There was a logo on the thermos [and it wasn’t a janky thermos either]. ➡️ Our oat milk was clearly labeled [otherwise I’d be left wondering, did they actually remember I wanted oat milk and would be feeling uncomfortable] and it was in a fab little glass bottle with a stopper.
➡️ There was sugar options [even thought I wasn’t asked about them…I love sugar and was worried I forgot to mention that] as well as napkins in a glassine bag.
➡️ There were two beautiful ceramic mugs wrapped in wax paper.
➡️ Even the bag itself was chic.
➡️ And I’d like to add that this chic morning goodie bag was hanging on a specific knob on the door that was put there intentionally [this was not the doorknob…this was a knob put on the door just for the purpose of holding the morning goodie bag]. This knob on the door also ensured that: we would not be bothered by this delivery AND that it would look a certain way and be presented to us in a certain way [smartly hanging on the door].
➡️ Giving us an actual newspaper was a pattern interruption…most of us don’t read actual newspapers anymore. And it was FUN AF. I loved going through the paper with my morning coffee: it made me feel smart.

👀 SOME THINGS I WOULD SWITCH UP IF I WERE RUNNING THE HOTEL 👀

We were in Room #7

This is their cafe [I was there super early so no one was there yet]

We had a delish breakfast right here the following morning before checking out

Look, no one is perfect…and there’s always things we can do to re-evaluate, reinvent or improve our own biz vibes [this is something I am doing CONSTANTLY in my own biz].

So in that spirit, here are some things I would switch up if I were running The Maker Hotel.

➡️ As I mentioned, the check-in process was confusing to me when I first walked in You basically need to walk into the cafe portion of their hotel [which is diff than that solarium room] and you’re kinda standing in the middle of the restaurant with all of your luggage while everyone eating there is awkwardly staring at you. There was not a hostess that we could see when we arrived so we were stuck there for a moment or two until someone in the hotel office noticed us and then promptly came out.

This wasn’t a huge deal, but again: I think first impressions are everything. I would have asked us to text when we were 5 minutes away so that they could direct us to the proper parking spot [something else that was also not clear] and then meet us right away upon arrival.

➡️ The flowers on the table during dinner were sad and dead. It was a small arrangement and it just was 1. kinda dead and 2. Not up to snuff in terms of the vibes of the rest of the hotel. It looked like a sad little supermarket arrangement.

➡️ Schedule my turndown service at night. I was SO damn excited about the CBD gummies, however, also I’m an old lady. They were supposed to be dropped off between 5-7pm I think and by 7:30, no one was there. Greg and I had woken up at 5am that day and were exhausted, so we put a do not disturb sign on our door and were getting ready to go to bed. At 8:15 or so, someone knocked on our door [ignoring the sign] and brought us the gummies. If Joanne, when checking us in, had just asked about timing, this all could have been avoided.

➡️ There was a gigantic miss IMHO in terms of marketing the hotel’s special line of fragrances Apparently the dude who runs this hotel used to run Fresh Cosmetics…and so The Maker Hotel has it’s own line of fragrances. Which, with that background info, makes SO much sense.

However, from a marketing and branding POV, I was blown away by how poorly this fragrance aspect is marketed at the hotel.

There are Malin + Goetz bath products in the room…why?? True: I’ve never created my own fragrance, but it seems like it would be the easiest thing in the world to create soaps and a body wash [at a minimum] using one of the exclusive Maker Hotel fragrances.

And if you’re not going to do this ⬆️, why not put all the different fragrances in my room with some info on each one? Leave me some samples? Offer, instead of room service, some sort of sampling experience where I can request to have all of the diff scents set up.

Or better yet, ask me ahead of time what some of my fave notes are and choose the Maker Hotel candle that you think I’ll love the best and have it in my room. Set up a gift bag for me and just tell me it will be $x if I grab it and keep it.

Have your candles placed around the hotel with little info sheets on the fragrances [there was just one little area outside the hotel office where things were set up].

This is their Maker Hotel fragrance wall

HERE’S YOUR HELLA IMPORTANT TAKEAWAY: 

After only spending 24 hours in this hotel, I was able to write you this 4,764 essay on exactly what the vibes of this business represented for me.

And your community’s doing this EXACT SAME THING with you every single day.

If you’re not approaching your biz with the same type of strategy and intention as I am…and as the Maker Hotel is…it’s a problem. 🤷🏻‍♀️

YOUR NEXT STEPS:
Get serious and come up with an intentional plan for the vibes of your own biz

➡️ Audit your current offers/products/programs Do they all represent the intentional vibes you’re trying to create? [go back to the list you created above of all your words and phrases]. Don’t forget to look at the names of things, the designs of your deliverables, you’re onboarding/offboarding processes [or packaging].

➡️ Choose ONE area to focus on for your biz vibes uplevel. Again, I think one of the easiest things to start with on this front is your brand photos [SEE LAST WEEK’S EMAIL FOR A DEEP DIVE ON THIS]. Start with your photos and social media and really work on presenting yourself to your audience in a way that you want to truly reflect who you are and what you’re trying to do. Remember you can lean on resources like Canva, Creative Market [for more templates] and apps like LensBuddy for taking photos on your own.

You can even ask your audience on Instagram to weigh in and include a question box so that ppl can send in words or phrases that come to mind.

💥 BONUS TIP: Join my “How to Create the Vibes of Your Biz” Masterclass on November 16th…cause you need way more strategy and intention in your vibes bag of tricks.

🙀 MY HOW TO CREATE THE VIBES OF YOUR BIZ MASTERCLASS IS NEXT WEEK 🙀

AND I’M GONNA KEEP IT REAL WITH YOU: GETTING FOCUSED ON CREATING NEXT LEVEL, TOTALLY UNIQUE VIBES IN MY OWN BUSINESS IS THE THING I CREDIT THE MOST FOR HELPING ME TO MAKE BETWEEN $500 AND $900KFOR THE PAST FEW YEARS


YOU ARE SLEEPING ON THE #1 THING THAT CAN IMMEDIATELY SET YOU APART IN YOUR INDUSTRY & ESTABLISH YOU AS A CATEGORY OF ONE

Look, it’s gettin REALLLL crowded out there in this online biz space RN. And I need to understand why it’s YOUUUUU I should be spending my money with…hiring…learning from…listening to…connecting with.

And right now, that ain’t at alllll clear, homie. So we gotta switch things up.

I’m done watching you do all the things you need to be doing in order to build your biz empire…but then seeing you realize that it’s JUST NOT CUTTING THROUGH THE NOISE.

I’m telling you: it’s because you need to intentionally and strategically be creating the vibes of your biz in a way that me saying yes to pulling out my wallet and hiring you…or buying your product…is a no brainer.

I’ll be going into the nitty gritty details about alllllll of the diff ways you can intentionally create the vibes of your biz [cause trust me: you’re missing the strategy behind all this stuff RN].

I’ve legit never seen anyone TALK about this shit before, much less teach a class on it.

In this 90 minute masterclass, you’ll learn:

➡️ All of the different vibe “categories” I focus on as an [almost!] 7-figure online business. We’ll go into detail about what you should be paying attention to and what you should skip.

➡️ How to create your own biz “vibe formula”…cause as I say again again again: you can either A. commit to intentionally creating your own biz vibes OR B. let your community decide what your vibes are for you.🥴 Unsurprisingly, I think option B is unacceptable.

➡️ What fashion “style cues,” “brand catch phrases” and “threads” are when it comes to your biz vibes [and no, I’m not talking about the new Instagram platform that we all went gaga for week one and haven’t logged into since].

➡️ All of my fave Vibe-y resources, apps, links and platforms for you to steal and use so that you can immediately start taking action on reinventing your own vibes with intention and strategy.

And sooooo much more.

This will be a webinar style masterclass that includes 60 minutes of live teaching as well as 30 minutes of answering your specific vibe-y questions about your own business.

💡 How to Create the Vibes Of Your Business Masterclass is going down on Thursday, November 16th @ 10am PT, 11am MT, 12pm CT and 1pm ET. You can grab your spot HERE for only $67. And yep, there will be a replay.

I know I’m biased but, dude: I’m gonna lay it all out on the line and say: you can’t afford NOT be in this thing. 🤷🏻‍♀️

**If you’re a current 1:1 client of mine or a client of the Icon Agency, woo hoo: you get into this masterclass for free! Message me for your 100% off coupon.

As per uzsh, let me know if you have any questions about anything I’ve talked about today. I’m obsessed with helping us all become badass CEO millionaires together, so I wanna make sure that you’re clear on all the vibe-y moves you need to be making in your biz.

Will I see you at the Masterclass??? I hope so…cause I’m saving your ass a seat.

Love you. Mean it.

**If you wanna do me a solid and spread the word about my Icon Status email, you can phone a friend, er, forward this to a friend and have them sign up HERE.

I keep getting asked: “hey, E: what email provider are you using for your snappy new emails?”

So I wanted to share the deets in case you wanna use them too.

The platform is called Beehiiv and it was created by the team behind the insanely popular email Morning Brew. It’s designed for those of us who are all in on growing our lists, looking at deep, juicy analytics reports and making it dead easy for ppl to share.

This isn’t sponsored at all, buuuut I do have an affiliate link. So if you wanna sign up and try it yourself, you can do that HERE.