All the Trends You Need To Know About RN...

[PREVIEW] This is my paid email...

šŸ‘€ THIS IS A PREVIEW OF MY PAID MONTHLY TREND REPORT EMAIL THAT GOES TO ALL OF OUR [ONE] MEMBERSHIP FOUNDERS šŸ‘€
I have an ever changing ā€œcreative stackā€ of sources Iā€™m regularly consuming. After listening to all the most talked about podcasts, reading all the buzziest books and subscribing to all the juiciest underground substacks, Iā€™m going to share all the trends Iā€™m seeing in my new [One] membership. And duh: Iā€™m always going to include advice about how you can take advantage of these trends to create your own ā€˜Category of Oneā€ business. But today Iā€™m sending you this ā€œtrend reportā€ email for free, cause I want you to check it out too in case youā€™re thinking about [One] too.

IN THIS EMAIL:

šŸ‘€ A ROUND-UP OF TRENDS Iā€™M SEEING: These are only the best ones that I truly think you need to be paying attention to as a biz owner, FYI. Iā€™m also including loads of ideas for you on how to use these trends.
šŸŒˆ OTHER THINGS Iā€™VE BEEN LOVING: A rando, chaotic collection of recommendations I have for you based on all the things that are taking up real estate in my brain.

**I know I talk about ā€œsavingā€ these emails a lot, but dude: THIS ā¬‡ļø is an email youā€™re gonna wanna save. Swearsies.

**Also: please donā€™t feel like you need to TRY every trend and idea I share hereā€¦that is most def not the vibe. Pay attention to things that really grab you or resonate with you and skip the rest.

Reading time: approx 9 minutes

āž”ļø WHY I THINK ITā€™S IMPORTANT TO PAY ATTENTION TO TRENDS ā¬‡ļø

Hereā€™s the thing: I donā€™t wanna just tell you about the trends, even though that would be valuable in and of itself. I wanna tell you about the trends AND THEN I wanna give you ideas about how you can spin the trends into tangible ideas for your own biz.

And Iā€™m going to put these regular monthly trend emails together for a few important reasons:

  1. I wanna teach you how to get better at the practice of innovation

    And the best way for me to do that is to show you exactly how my brain works when it comes to rethinking these trends, noticing untapped opportunities and actually teaching you how to become more innovative in your biz and your life as a daily practice.

    Cause thatā€™s genuinely a skill that I think the vast majority of biz owners are missing. And while I do think thereā€™s def some of us out in the world who have a natural inclination for this stuff [hellerrrrr], I also think itā€™s a skill that can be honed and practiced.

    Iā€™m super duper lucky in that Iā€™ve practiced this a ton in my own biz ANNNND I get to work with other clients all the time on a 1:1 basis who I practice this for. The new [One] Membership is gonna be all about us practicing this t-o-g-e-t-h-e-r.

  2. Though many of these ideas are ā€œtrendingā€ now, you can still use em later on

    These ideas are not like a trending audios on TikTokā€¦which could be ā€œoverā€ in a matter of days or hours.

    Many of these trending ideas could be saved and used later onā€¦and donā€™t actually have an expiration date.

  3. I want you to reallllly prioritize using innovative ideas like these in your biz moving forward

    Now this does NOT mean that every single thing you do, every new thing you sell and every new post on social media needs to be ā€œSteve Jobs levelā€ innovative. But hereā€™s the truth: itā€™s legit impossible to get yourself to ā€œcategory of oneā€ status without this practice being front and center in your biz. It just is.

    So even if youā€™ve never ever ever incorporated any ideas like the ones Iā€™m sharing with you today in your bizā€¦uhm, today is new fucking day.

    And nowā€™s the time to start.

    Cause I see you as someone whoā€™s gonna be SETTING the trends in your own industry.

REMINDER: [and yes, I know I sound like a broken record at this point, but I donā€™t care]: most other business owners are totally fine copying everyone else and not being even the teeniest tiniest bit innovative. So most of em are not paying any attention to trends at allllll.

But you-n-me? Weā€™re not ā€œmost businessesā€ anymore. šŸ’ā€ā™€ļøšŸ’ā€ā™‚ļø

Ballymaloe Cookery School, Ireland

Ballymaloe Cookery School, Ireland

TREND: J.CREWā€™S INFLUENCER PHOTOSHOOTā€¦IN IRELAND
Instead of a standard ā€œinfluencer tripā€ J.Crew got strategic AF

If youā€™ve ever spent time scrolling on social media, youā€™ve probably seen examples of Influencer trips [where brands pay influencers to go off to exotic locales, wine and dine them and gift them with lots of free products].

Yes, thereā€™s always lots of posting and buzz for the brand while these luxurious free trips are happening, but also, if youā€™re not careful: shit can get real bad real fast [case in point: Tarte Cosmetics disastrous trip earlier this year].

But I crazy love the spin that J.Crew put on the standard issue, over-the-top influencer trip by inviting a smaller group of creators for the specific purpose of shooting a campaign for themselves at Ballymaloe Cookery School in Ireland.

Now, I have no clue what the payment terms looked like for these creators [i.e. did they just get the trip? Or did they get the trip AND get paid?], but I kinda donā€™t care. Cause I do know that that teaming up with the right influencer on the right campaign can potentially get you more eyeballs on your shit than a paid commercial on TV.

And I think this idea could have a lot of different use cases depending on what type of biz you have and what youā€™re looking to accomplish.

IDEAS FOR YOU:

āž”ļø Try this idea without the influencers: You def donā€™t need to go to Ireland to benefit from executing an idea like this. If youā€™re a photographer, an event planner, a branding expert who plans photoshoots a furniture or vintage rental company, a florist, etcā€¦it might be worth it to invest in a photoshoot/event like this so that you have the images to use to market yourself. You donā€™t even need influencers to do this: get friends and family to volunteer to be in the photos OR just take turns amongst the group and star in the photos yourselves [sidenote: modeling is not as easy as it seemsā€¦so just make sure youā€™re working with ppl who get it and a skilled photographer]. The best part is: with these types of collabs, you all can split the costs.

āž”ļø Try this idea WITH the influencers: If you own a product based biz, perhaps you could do a one time, over-the-top event in order to recreate this J-Crew ideaā€¦BUT not have to fly everyone to some far off locale.

āž”ļø Spin this idea into something else: The next time we go back to LA I came up with a variation of this idea for Greg and I try with our home there that we Airbnb [HERE is the listing in case you need a place to stay in LA]. My thought is I can block off our calendar for a day or two and offer our space to LA influencers who might want to come over to: shoot content, record podcasts or even just get some work done. Iā€™ll open up the cal so people can block off an hour or two, and Iā€™ll then have a bunch of diff possibilities for content I could repost or use on our Instagram account for the Airbnb. Will I get good content from EVERY person? Maybe notā€¦but Iā€™ll probably still get a lot. And for the rest: itā€™s major good

āž”ļø Cool trips = cool photoshoots: Even if youā€™re JUST taking a cool trip sometime in the next 6 months with friends or family, donā€™t miss an opportunity to get fab brand photos for yourself while youā€™re in a sexy new city. Trust me on this: the new locales, diff architecture, etc is almost always worth taking advantage of. Do searches on TikTok and Instagram to find a fab local photographer you dig [or look on Airbnb experiences].

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:

āž”ļø My step-by-step gameplan for planning a next level, not at all basic Brand Photoshoot [including links to Pinterest boards, prop ideas and more].

āž”ļø HERE is a cool Notion template I found for tracking Influencers your co or brand might work with [this would also work if there are just certain creators you want to track for research purposes].

āž”ļø HERE is where you can find my [verrrry reasonably priced] photographer in Paris who did my photoshoot in March [see some images HERE]. If you have a trip to Paris coming up, I can highly recommend her [and donā€™t forget to tell Quin I sent you].

āž”ļø Peerspace is a killer resource for events and photoshoots. Itā€™s like Airbnb but for event spaces, studios etc. And they have options in most cities.

The Snobā€™s Guide to Travel Google Docs

TREND: SUPER LOW FI RESOURCES OR FREEBIES
Yes, I love to create sexy digital ā€œmagazinesā€ [like this one I created for the [One] Membership], but honestly the trend I keep seeing is that people are loving shit thatā€™s super low fi too.

This summer I came across THIS article in Town & Country Mag that deeply fascinated me: The Snobā€™s Guide to Travel Google Docs.

It was all about how the ā€œhottest ticket in townā€ for bougie travelers like me is to be granted access to a ridiculously chic and well connected tastemakerā€™s personal google maps or google docs.

ā€œWith one act of generosity, I was suddenly inside a whisper network that made Tripadvisor look basic and my own itineraries seem like amateur hour. Its members are not exclusively famous or wealthy; theyā€™re a roving aristocracy of travel foragersā€¦ā€

I meannnnnā€¦arenā€™t you as desperate to get this googleā¬†ļø map to Milan as I am??

Fast forward to this holiday season, and Iā€™m KNEE DEEP in a series of dope ass gift guides on pretty much every platform [for the record: Iā€™m full on Amazon obsessed AND kinda just shopping obsessed in general, so gift guides are my Roman Empire].

As Iā€™m carefully mapping out a bunch of shit I wanna buy for myself [yeah: all the ā€œgiftsā€ are for me šŸ˜], I connected the dots on this trend of people sharing simple, easy to read [and save!] google spreadsheets for gift guides too.

Elizabeth Holmes, whose super popular Substack newsletter So Many Thoughts has amassed her a gigantic community, created THIS google doc where sheā€™s generously allowing small business owners to fill in info about gifts they have for sale [so that others in her community have an opportunity to support them]. And she created her own gift guide reccos google doc HERE.

And then I remembered the viral Google doc from former beauty editor Rio Viera-Newton on all of her skin care favorites that I used to be obsessed with [and was responsible for her getting a book deal AND a whole new career].

I think google docs, google maps and other lofi options like them can actually feel like a more intimate, exclusive connection between you and your community membersā€¦like the sort of thing you would only share with a friend.

And the use cases for these are kind of endlessā€¦

IDEAS FOR YOU:

āž”ļø Google maps of your fave cities: Honestly, Iā€™d probably have to think harder about who this wouldnā€™t work for rather than who it would. You can easily connect the google maps to what you do in your biz [i.e. my fave Vintage stores in Paris for a vintage reseller or My fave spots in NYC to help you feel like a CEO Millionaire for a money mindset coach].

Or you can do a series of maps for your fave cities to simply share if itā€™s a connection point for you and your audience [i.e. youā€™re a digital nomad or you live abroad like I doā€”who wants my google map for Mexico City? LOL].

Wedding photographers can curate these [secret kickass spots in x town for all your wedding guests]; Real estate agents can curate these [and send them to all of their potential or existing clients; Product based businesses can do different cities and get recommendations from their customers [i.e. if you sell personalized coffee cups, choose different cities and get reccos for the best coffee shops to work from]. The possibilities are kind of endless.

āž”ļø Iā€™ve used google doc at various points in my biz with great success. HERE is my badass tracker, for example, which is a template of a doc I use to keep track of all the cool shit Iā€™ve done in my life [seriously, you need your own. Anytime Iā€™m having a shitty day, I open mine up to make myself feel better. Iā€™ve shared it in a variety of ways: in a digital course, as a freebie when I speak in Masterminds or at other speaking events, and as a giveaway when Iā€™m interviewed on Podcasts.

āž”ļø Other lowfi spins on this idea: I worked with my 1:1 client Kiki Athanas [who I think is a killer ā€œcategory of oneā€ example in the verrrry crowded health and intuitive eating space] recently to come up with a DEAD EASY lead magnet that is legit killing it and getting people to sign up to her email list in droves: itā€™s basically a Spotify playlist of podcast episodes sheā€™s curated around all of the most buzzy health topics right now. For her audience [Wealthy millennials who are trying to lose their last 10 pounds or get back on track] this lowfi freebie is like catnip. And it took her about 15 mins to put together [and best of all, she can keep updating it as trends shift. She also has a bunch of her own podcast episodes on there mixed in]. This is not a google doc, obvs, but itā€™s another great example of a low fi, extremely low lift option that you could legit put together TODAY if you wanted to.

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:

āž”ļø My Spotify Playlist I curate with all of my latest podcast interviews [if you do lots of interviews too, you must create one of these immediately. Itā€™s a killer thing to put on your website, share regularly with your community or even send along with Podcast pitches [so other hosts can get an idea of what an amazing guest you would be]. I cannot tell you how often I share this link. I need to do a social media post on how to create one of these too [NOTE TO SELF šŸ¤£].

āž”ļø For now, HERE is info on how to create Spotify playlists of podcasts. Honestly, using Spotify playlists as a marketing tool in your biz could be a whole separate email, cause I think thatā€™s a hella cool trend too.

āž”ļø Info on exactly how to share google docs as templates [this is a specific process that requires more than simply clicking the ā€œshareā€ button].

I actually ordered some Sassyā€™s off of ebay to use as props at my next shoot

TREND: THE RETURN OF ZINES & MAGAZINES
People are loving tangible, ā€œreal lifeā€ experiences and it seems like the Magazine is coming back in a big way.

I got tagged in THIS TikTok video [sidenote: I fucking LOVE when ppl do that for me] from The Stanza that was all about this return to print Zines and Magazines.

And they referenced the fact that Karlie Kloss [who is always on top of every damn trend] recently purchased i-D magazine, which I found friggin fascinating.

If youā€™ve been in my world for awhile, youā€™ve probably noticed that I use magazines almost exclusively for our marketing. True, mine are digital [I make them all in Canva] but this has become a major ā€œbrand triggerā€ for me and my biz.

And the background is: Iā€™ve been a magazine fiend pretty much my whole life. I had stacks and stacks of them in every space I lived in and showed off my ā€œcollectionsā€ with pride. And since writing has always been a big piece of my life, I always dreamed of being a magazine writer when I was growing up [which I eventually became for a brief time!].

My fave magazine by farā€¦and the one that I truly think helped me come into my own as a budding ā€œcategory of oneā€ teenager was Sassy magazine.

Anyway, this is why Iā€™ve had so much fun incorporating magazines into my biz and making it such a big piece of our brand.

I even had a freebie for awhile that was a gorgeously designed offer magazine template I shared for free when we launched the Icon Agency [Iā€™m obvs putting this in our [One] Library for all the new members].

But Iā€™ve been thinking a lot about the idea of the tangible and how I could bring this idea of mine into the world in a physical form.

One of my ā€œcrazyā€ projects I have on my 2024 bingo card is a business coffee table book.

But also the thought of doing a real world print magazine feels ridiculously fun to me.

And I think that this trend could manifest itself in about 1,001 different ways for all sorts of different businesses, creators and ventures.

Iā€™m guessing weā€™re going to see a lot more examples of this in the next year, and Iā€™m here for every second of it.

**Note: even though the physical magazine piece of this is the trend Iā€™m calling out, I do still think digital magazines are something to play and experiment with.

IDEAS FOR YOU:

āž”ļø Use a physical or digital magazine as a collaboration project: How cool would it be to use a magazine project as a collab opportunity with other people in your industry? For the launch of our CEO Millionaire You course I could potentially do a printed mag where I ask other coaches or biz owners to chime in on stories where they felt most like the CEO Millionaire versions of themselves. Or a bunch of copywriters could get together, each include a fave swipe file or template in a dope magazine and then sell and market it together.

āž”ļø Instead of a digital course, create a physical or digital magazine. I always love to lean into the idea of ā€œpattern interruptionsā€ in my biz and marketing, and holy shit, a physical magazine would be such a cool pattern interruption in the digital course space. And I know, I knowā€¦ā€digitalā€ course literally means online, but weā€™re talking PATTERN INTERRUPTIONS, yo.

āž”ļø Copy me and use magazines for your offers or services: This has truly been one of the best and most impactful decisions weā€™ve made in our business thus far. Magazines are a killer pattern interruption when everyone else is doing sales pages. Also, it allows you a lot more space and creative leeway when youā€™re sharing details about your offers. It somehow feels way less sales-y than a typical sales page [even though I would argue selling is probs more front and center in them] and it also allows you to create an impactful initial touchpoint with potential customers. i.e. Iā€™ve had dozens of clients tell me that they immediately felt like: ā€œif this much time, effort and intention goes into a simple info doc, I know the experience of working with Erica is going to be super dope.ā€

And, uhm: theyā€™re right.šŸ¤£

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES:

āž”ļø HEREā€™S our [One] Membership magazine. Itā€™s 18 pages and full of specific info about what you get in the membership, what our monthly themes are and even includes our January schedule. Because the Canva ā€œview onlyā€ link stays the same, Iā€™m able to update the doc on a daily basis if I want [which Iā€™ve been doing with our Founder spots as they get grabbed in real time].

āž”ļø I came across THIS fab Canva magazine template on Creative Market if you want to get going on your own mag pronto.

āž”ļø Magazines Return to Print

āž”ļø Iā€™ve used Blurb in the past [never for magazine printing], but they offer quite a few physical magazine print options.

A RANDO CHAOTIC ROUND-UP OF EVERYTHING Iā€™M LOVING
Obvs this shit is in noooo order.šŸ¤£

āž”ļø @jessundecided: I legit want every single piece of clothing this creator shares. Sheā€™s chic AF but in a totally accessible way. And sheā€™s not 19 years old. [Another insanely fashionable, stylish creator I love: @roz_creativestylist ]

āž”ļø I wanna copy this In/Out post ā¬†ļø HERE immediately. And I can see this working for almost anyone in any biz. What a fun, killer, impactful way to see you flex your chops as an authority, leader and trend setter in your industry. Also, take note: you could do a serious version of this OR a funny ass one. Get creative.

āž”ļø A Nearly Normal Family on Netflix: Go watch this friggin show RN. Itā€™s dark AF and in Swedish [I watched it with the dubbed English]. It was so haunting, and well written and beautifully actedā€¦I finished it days ago and Iā€™m still thinking about it. [Trigger warning for sexual assault though].

Some other shows Iā€™m watching and loving: The Buccaneers on Apple TV [unsupervised rich teenagers AND historical fictionā€¦yes pls]; Golden Bachelor is worth a watch if you missed it; And a few fave Hallmark Movies of this season so far: Never Been Chrisā€™d, A Merry Scottish Christmas [with a fab Party of Five reunion] and My Norwegian Holiday.

āž”ļø Iā€™m obsessed with Palm Heights in Grand Cayman after reading about this hotel absolutely e-v-e-r-y-w-h-e-r-e. Maybe we have our first [One] Membership meetup there? šŸ˜Ž

āž”ļø THIS 3-part podcast series on Kylie Jenner, the Kardashians and her fake billionaire status had me in a chokehold. I also really enjoyed THIS 7-part podcast series: The Wedding Scammer.

āž”ļø THIS Flamingo Estate [one of my fave brands of all timeā€”their candles are heaven] Celebrity Honey is genius biz innovation 101.

āž”ļø Pinterest Predicts Trends of 2024. Iā€™m totes into the eclectic Grandpa and Jazz predictions.

āž”ļø How I sold 10,000 books without a publisher

āž”ļø Oatley [the plant based milk co] has built a social strategy specifically around commentingā€¦so friggin genius!

šŸ˜Ž YOU CAN STILL GRAB A [ONE] MEMBERSHIP FOUNDER SPOT FOR $197 šŸ˜Ž

BUT THIS IS A DECEMBER ONLY BONUS THATā€™S ENDING REALLLL SOON


JOIN THE [ONE] MEMBERSHIP AS A FOUNDER

Our brand new membership [One], for entrepreneurs obsessed with the idea of getting their ā€œcategory of oneā€ status, officially kicks off in January, 2024. However, for Founders who sign up in December, they get a 30 min 1:1 coaching session with me [that normally go for $1000] for the price of one month of the membership [which is currently priced at $197].

They also get: Founderā€™s office hours, access to my two most recent masterclass, an opportunity to join our ā€œFounderā€™s Councilā€ that will shape the future of [One] and probably lots of other good shit that we havenā€™t even thought of yet.

HEREā€™S SOME MORE DOPE [ONE] STUFF YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT:

āž”ļø A killer community: And in case youā€™re thinking FB groupā€¦donā€™t. Weā€™re going to bring you and all of your amazing ā€œcategory of oneā€ fellow entrepreneurs together to learn from, get inspired by and support in Skool.

āž”ļø A curated monthly inspo and trend ā€œstackā€: Iā€™m going to curate for you all of the monthly trends, updates, genius branding and marketing moves, creators to watch, podcasts to listen to and more. Basically everything I think is important for you to know about as an innovation obsessed entrepreneur.

āž”ļø Private Instagram account Thanks to the recent updates Instagram has made, Iā€™m going to be ditching everyone currently on my Close Friends List and replacing them with YOU and other [One] members. This means weā€™re going to have a private space for me to share stories, Reels and even posts where we can all interact.

āž”ļø Monthly Content Club Instead of a monthly book club, weā€™ll have a [totally optional] monthly content club. Sure, sometimes we will read books, but sometimes we will listen to a series of podcast episodes, or read a series of essays around our monthly theme and then discuss them all together on a zoom to share takeaways and lessons.

Trust me: this ainā€™t yo mommaā€™s typical membership.

So, if this feels like this could be a fit for youā€¦

HERE ARE YOUR NEXT STEPS:

āž”ļø Click on over HERE to our [One] Application. At the top of the page you will see a link to our 18 page [One] magazine that includes lots more scoop, our first 6 months of themes as well as Januaryā€™s schedule.

āž”ļø Then you can APPLY and become a Founding Member of [One]! Youā€™re under no obligation to join just by applying, but that is the first step in the process.

Weā€™re kicking off our first event on December 19th, and as per uzsh, Iā€™m saving your ass a seat there.

**If you have any questions about [One] just hit reply and ask away!

p.s. If you missed my How to Become A Category of One in 2024 Masterclass and you wanna watch the replay, you can do that HERE [password= ONE]

As a reminder, this is your free preview of our new monthly Trend Report email that is only going to be sent to members of our new [One] Membership community. If you crazy loved it and want to get an email like this every single month, this might be your sign that you need to sign-up. šŸ¤“

And if youā€™re already a [One] Founder, hit reply and let me know if you have any other ideas or requests about how I can make these types of emails even juicier for you.šŸ‘ŒšŸ»